N18 Beastmaster and Ripperjacks

lastbrat

Ganger
Aug 18, 2013
109
86
33
I was wondering what the point is of the Ripperjacks having the Infiltrate skill, while their Beastmaster has the Catfall skill? If you deploy them behind enemy lines, they will become broken at the end of the first round, since the Beastmaster will be too far away (most likely), so.. does anyone actually use them in their gang? Related question: what's the point of having the Backstab skill for your Millisaurs, if their only weapon is a Toxin one (in case they gain the specialist status when rolling on the advancement chart, and then roll for Backstab)? Since it is a skill they cannot use, is it ignored for them, and do you choose one of the other 3 skills?
 
Hmm not sure if Ripperjack has Infiltrate? Or any skill at all for that matter. Looks like I wrote Infiltrate in Necrodamus but can't find it in Outlands. Sorry if you used that as reference, it will be fixed soon. It is kinda weird because the other pets typically have a skill and gives that skill to the owner, but Ripperjacks doesn't do that. They do the closest thing however, they have flight and gives catfall which reminiscent of parts of what flight is.

For Backstab, that's a bit niche since pets will rarely gain skills? They need to roll 2 or 12 to become specialists. And then gain more XP for the skill. However, if they do and if they end up with Backstab, it will be useless yes. I don't think this is rare in general or unique to this pet. However, arguably you could still use backstab for unarmed attacks. And that could happen either by choice (?) or some other special rule like Disarm. Also extremely niche. And Backstab itself is already niche and pretty useless from what I heard.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Aulenback
Thnx. Will check, a friend of mine has that book, so we’ll have a look Then. Incidentally, I just had a fighter level up, rolled 11 so he became specialist and then 1 to gain that most useless skill Backstab (especially since he wields a blunderbuss on a pole)… so yeah, it could happen to the millisaur :)
I’ve also spotted a few minor mistakes on Necrovox, reported them via Discord, thoughit all may be in vain in the end due to those pesky legal issues..
 
  • Haha
Reactions: Aulenback
Thnx. Will check, a friend of mine has that book, so we’ll have a look Then. Incidentally, I just had a fighter level up, rolled 11 so he became specialist and then 1 to gain that most useless skill Backstab (especially since he wields a blunderbuss on a pole)… so yeah, it could happen to the millisaur :)
I’ve also spotted a few minor mistakes on Necrovox, reported them via Discord, thoughit all may be in vain in the end due to those pesky legal issues..
You need 12 to get specialist which is more unlikely than 11. It can happen but is rare. You are right the skill is included now so that "helps" triggering this situation.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Aulenback