N18 Beginners Question Box

I don't Know for the second question but among the book i m happy to have there is The book of the Outcast for the big things it bring. Your house book and the new rules book.
 
Last edited:
So, i have been holding off buying a new Necromunda books, but if I wanted to, which is the book/s I need to get? And does it look likely that it will be replaced again?
Others might disagree, but I would question the need to buy any book. There are community sources available that does the job better IMO. Chance of replacement? Everytime something is replaced, I think this time it won't get replaced again. Until it suddenly does. At this point, I think everything is getting replaced sooner or later. That being said, the latest rulebook from last year has considerably better quality than virtually all other books.
 
Odd question.

Does the Forged Guilder Seal have to be carried and used by a Leader/Champion? Or can any gang fighter use it?

I had thought that it was used as part of a Trade Action, and that Trade Actions could only be done by "Gang Hierarchy (X)" fighters. I thought that because the Trade action was the way to "visit the Trading Post." But in the N23 Core Rule Book (the first of the new editions that I am actually trying to read thoroughly), Visit The Trading Post is something that the whole gang does, during step 6B of the post-battle sequence.

Does it matter, then, who carries one? Or could it be given to any ganger, to avoid putting all eggs in one basket?
 
It's every fighter in the gang that can use I. At least that's how I understood it when I wrote my thoughts on the economics of Necromunda.


Necromunda reducing cost help by object

FORGED GUILDER SEAL 55

Truly decent forged documents are a rarity in the underhive, and ones good enough for a ganger to pass themselves off as a Guilder even more so – though they do exist.
Only the boldest criminals pretend to be Guilders, however, for the consequences of being discovered and caught involves a long and painful execution.
When a fighter with a Forged Guilder Seal visits the Trading Post, they reduce the Rarity of Items by 2. In addition, the prices of any items they buy are reduced by 3D6 credits to a minimum of 10 credits.
However, if they roll a double 1 or double 6 when reducing the price of an item, they have been discovered.
The item is bought as normal, however, the seal is then removed from their Fighter card, and the fighter’s gang are declared Outlaws (see page 38).

Despite its flaw of potentially turning your loyal gang into an outlaw one even if you don’t want to, it’s an extremely useful object. If you don’t care or if you are already an outlaw gang, it has no flaw. Reducing the rarity and the cost of an object more than one time during a campaign is very good.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aulenback
Well, to begin with, that's not a Ganger, it's a Juve, and Juves have that promotion rule. And Juves are not the basic ganger. So that might be the problem?

The Bully is the Goliath gang Juve. It's the Bruiser that is the basic ganger for Goliaths.

Does that help?
 
Well, to begin with, that's not a Ganger, it's a Juve, and Juves have that promotion rule. And Juves are not the basic ganger. So that might be the problem?

The Bully is the Goliath gang Juve. It's the Bruiser that is the basic ganger for Goliaths.

Does that help?
Thanks my basic bruisers also immediately got this when I added them, do they have the same rule? I was hunting the rulebook for this rule and couldn't find alot. My assumption was that this character could be promoted to a specialist in the future. (Not 100% sure what being a specialist allows you to do yet)
 
Thanks my basic bruisers also immediately got this when I added them, do they have the same rule? I was hunting the rulebook for this rule and couldn't find alot. My assumption was that this character could be promoted to a specialist in the future. (Not 100% sure what being a specialist allows you to do yet)
Gangers have random advancements, until they roll up the specialist advancement which promotes them to specialist (or repeatedly get an advancement result that would take a stat beyond maximum - which gets converted to promotion to specialist).

Specialists then can pick their advancements and usually get access to more weapon options (your milage will vary from faction to faction).

The process is detailed in the 2023 core rules on page 149.

I'm sure someone out there has put together a spreadsheet with all the different faction names for gang leader, champion/alternative champion, ganger, prospect, juve...but I'm used to the terms now so I haven't had to look.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Aulenback
until they roll up the specialist advancement which promotes them to specialist
Erm,.. the way I understood it is that you can become a specialist by rolling on the advancement table, but a Promotion is when a juve has 3 (used to be 5) Advancements, becomes promoted to a ganger and ceases being a Juve. Unfortunately, the word Promotion is not explained in the new basic rulebook, but only in the house books. Unless I'm wrong again...?
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: TopsyKretts
Erm,.. the way I understood it is that you can become a specialist by rolling on the advancement table, but a Promotion is when a juve has 3 (used to be 5) Advancements, becomes pormoted to a ganger and ceases being a Juve. Unfortunately, the word Promotion is not explained in the new basic rulebook, but only in the house books. Unless I'm wrong again...?
Sorry, that's a small "p" promotion for the ganger to specialist. Should have used the word advances, evolves, or becomes (the latter being the term used in the text).
 
  • Like
Reactions: lastbrat
Yeah, no problem. It's just that I struggled with it myself, since I have the new rulebook and the books of Peril and Outcast, neither if which have Juves, so I couldn't find an explanation for what Promotion ment, since it's in neither of the 3 books (which is weird, given that's it's kind of a core mechanic of Juves becoming gangers, so I expected it to be explained in the core rules)
:giggle:
 
Hello everyone.
I am going to get into Necromunda pretty soon (had a blast with GorkaMorka, but got fizzled out in our circle quickly) and building Vantor gang (consisting of kroots).

I am a bit lost regarding the following wording:
When hired, choose Common and Rare equipment up to Rarity value X

Questions:
1. Does it mean 1 Common and 1 Rare or just 1 Common/Rare equipment?
2. Does “equipment” include “weapons”?
3. Does the fighter get this equipment for free or does it have to be purchased?
Argument for “free”:
a. Brutes have some weapons listed in Weapons field (as Venators do) included into their cost as it seems, excluding upgrades
b. The wording is Choose not Purchase
Arguments for “purchase”:
a. Getting first weapon for each guy for free is helluva buff and seems like cheating
b. All other hangers from other gangs start with nothing (except for van saars, who seem to have bodygloves).
 
Hello everyone.
I am going to get into Necromunda pretty soon (had a blast with GorkaMorka, but got fizzled out in our circle quickly) and building Vantor gang (consisting of kroots).

I am a bit lost regarding the following wording:
When hired, choose Common and Rare equipment up to Rarity value X

Questions:
1. Does it mean 1 Common and 1 Rare or just 1 Common/Rare equipment?
2. Does “equipment” include “weapons”?
3. Does the fighter get this equipment for free or does it have to be purchased?
Argument for “free”:
a. Brutes have some weapons listed in Weapons field (as Venators do) included into their cost as it seems, excluding upgrades
b. The wording is Choose not Purchase
Arguments for “purchase”:
a. Getting first weapon for each guy for free is helluva buff and seems like cheating
b. All other hangers from other gangs start with nothing (except for van saars, who seem to have bodygloves).
1. Means purchase equipment for the fighter from the credits available to your starting gang (usually 1000 total) which you also have to pay for the fighters themselves with.
That equipment can be as rare as Rare 11 on your leader or whatever it is on your champions, etc. Your fighters can carry three weapons each, unless the weapon is listed with an asterix (*) which means it takes up two slots.
Don't go blowing the whole 1000 on your leader, think of the meat shields! And gang composition rules!

2. Very much so, and may be your biggest expense.

3. See answer to 1, you need to pay for it out of your starting credits (usually 1000, sometimes 1400 in Ash Wastes, sometimes 2000 for other campaign formats). This is the way all gangs are equipped, with notable exceptions for Van Saar and Enforcers who still purchase the majority of their equipment but start out with some armour and weapons for both fluffy reasons (radiation poisoning/paramilitary unit outfitting) and game balance (Enforcers are in the same boxed set as Corpse Grinders and need all the help they can get).

a) Brute (and other hanger on) equipment is included in their recruitment cost, excluding the upgrades.

b) Venators pay for their weapons. Like almost* every other gang.
Not getting into a discussion of choose vs purchase, that heads down a lonely rabbit hole of house rules, population no-one-else.
*Examples listed above.
 
1. It means any equipment you can afford, of rarity X and lower. So you have to buy it from your starting credits, but can choose it from the Trading Post, giving you a wider selection of options.
2. Equipment in this case does mean to include weapons. Your Venators get to start with whatever weapons and other equipment you purchase for them from the Trading Post.
3. Nope, you'll need to shell out those credits for every bit of gear your Venators want.
a. Brutes and Hangers-On are different from the rest of your gang in a lot of ways. Their equipment is included in their hiring cost, and they don't get to have other equipment options. Not now, and not later. What is in their listing is what they have.
b. Brutes' cost already includes their weapons and equipment. It isn't free, because you are already paying for it (some brutes have options which have an additional listed cost you need to pay; once chosen and paid during hiring, that is the gear they have from now on).
a. You don't get free weapons for each guy. You really do have to buy their weapons and equipment. The difference is that for your Venators, they have access to Trading Post rare equipment right out of the gate, up to a limited rarity.
b. Most hangers on DO in fact come with some equipment and/or weapons, and it is all they will ever have. A Hanger-On that comes with an autopistol has that autopistol included in its hiring cost, and will only ever have an autopistol. Remember that there is a limit to the number of Brutes-plus-Hangers-On you can hire, usually based on the gang's Reputation (so usually, you can only start with one Brute-or-Hanger-On total, having to wait to add another later).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ben_S and libratorr
Thanks everyone for the responses.
Just wanted to make sure I am not confusing the wording!

Edit: in my previous post in the argument for purchase “b”, I’ve actually meant gangers, but the autocorrect threw a wrench that I’ve missed
 
I have a problem in a campaign about Overwatch skill RAW. What counts action Carried out? Maybe this thin line drops in translation.
Game situations :
1. My sniper stands on a long narrow street and enemy ganger runs across with one move. I dons have LOS on him on start or end of his move. BUT i see him in a middle. Can i shoot him ?
2 Same but enemy charges me.(charge begins behind the corner)
 
My interpretation:
1. No
2. yes, after he's done moving, before he carries out the WS attacks.
as i get the rules i can shoot enemy untill he finish the action
i see 2 variants
1 i can shoot AFTER he declares an action BUT BEFORE he makes is. (so i cant shoot in both situations)
2 i can shoot enemy untill he FINISH the action.(So i can shoot him when he moves in my LOS( yes in both variants))
3 What by your opinion makes 2nd variant yes ?
 
The charge Action tells you to move plus D3", and THEN get a free "fight" Action.
Charge (Double): The fighter moves as if making a Move (Simple) action, but addsD3" to the distance they can move [...] If they are Standing and Engaged at the end of this move, they must immediately make a free Fight (Basic) action.
And with Overwatch stating
If this fighter is Standing and Active, and has a Ready marker on them, they can interrupt a visible enemy model’s action as soon as it is declared but before it is carried out.
the interpretation that allows shooting after move but before attacks, is that Fight after a charge is a discrete - and free and mandatory, but still discrete - Action. So it would be shooting after the movement, when the free Fight Action is declared, but before the free Fight Action happens.

BUT ... at that point the Overwatching chargee is now Engaged. Can an Engaged fighter take a Shoot Action (because just as Charge gives a free Fight Action, Overwatch gives a Shoot Action)?

I don't think so. I think Shoot (Basic) is restricted to Standing and Active, and not allowed for Standing and Engaged, so I don't think in either case, the Overwatch fighter would get to shoot. It isn't "interrupt an action once you can see them," it is explicitly "interrupt an action immediately after it is announced but before any of that action is carried out." So if you cannot see them before they do the thing, you don't get to after.

So I would say RaW says No and No, respectively. The first ganger is not visible at the start of their Move (Simple) action, and that is the only action we hear about, so no Overwatch shot. The second ganger IS visible when they begin their free Fight (Simple) action, but at that point the Overwatch shooter is already Engaged (starting at the end of the Move part of Charge (Double)).
 
Last edited: