N18 Blast and Pitch Black

Can Blast target fighters in Pitch Black?

  • Yes

    Votes: 2 20.0%
  • No

    Votes: 8 80.0%

  • Total voters
    10
  • Poll closed .

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,433
6,740
193
Norway
The general consensus seem to be that Blast ignores Pitch Black. Or that's my understanding at least. But is this potentially simplified? Blast can target a fighter or a point on the battlefield. Targeting a point on the battlefield ignores Pitch Black. But targeting a fighter perhaps does not?

It won't usually be relevant because targeting a point on the battlefield next to the fighter that is the actual target is usually better in many situations because how strong Blast is for circumventing penalties and special rules:
  • Negative hit modifier from cover.
  • Terrifying and other special rules.
However, in some situations the fighter may be in LOS, but not any point on the battlefield in close vicinity is in LOS:
1664108776510.png


The target may be on a higher level or blocked by intervening barricade.
 

VikToLive

Juve
Sep 4, 2019
37
46
18
Indianapolis
No. Pitch Black states that all models have the Hidden condition, and can't be targeted unless they replace Hidden with Revealed (or other currently-irrelevant criteria).
Blasts targeting a point bypass this because points on the battlefield don't have Hidden, only models do.
 

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,433
6,740
193
Norway
That settles it! This means the actual distinction is very niche because it only applies to those situations where you can't see any point next to the fighter.