N18 Blast Markers and Scatter

Kilpanic

New Member
Jun 8, 2024
2
0
6
Hello my fellow dudes,

New player here. I'm using a rules compilation to learn, and not the actual rulebook, so forgive me if that's the source of my confusion.

In my resource the rule for Blast Markers reads:

"When making a ranged attack with a weapon that has the Blast (X) trait, a model may target a point on the battlefield instead of an eligible target, though if they do so the shot will have a -2 modifier to hit unless the weapon also has the Smoke trait:" (emphasis mine).

...followed by the steps to take when you are targeting a point on the battlefield.

My dumb question is, where are the rules for scattering a Blast Marker that targets an eligible target? Or do shots that target a model normally and miss just miss, like any other shot?
 
-direct fire: you center the blast on the target
you roll to hit
if you fail you roll the scatter dice, and move the blast template

(you have a higher chance of the blast 'not' scattering)

-indirect fire: you center the blast on the point you choose,
you roll to hit with a -2 modifier
if you fail you roll the scatter dice, and move the blast template

(you have a higher chance to have to roll the scatter dice)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aulenback