N18 Blast rules clarification

JawRippa

Ganger
Mar 31, 2017
159
126
58
Hello. Our group is struggling with finding a common ground for blast rules, mainly because rules allow targetting non-fighters.
1).
RBRrAr3.jpg

Does this blast hit green target underneath it?

2).
zP8GMJo.jpg

Is this targetting legitimate with no BS penalties, and will it hit the model? If yes, will the model get the benefit of +Armor save against blast from cover?
 

spafe

Executive Officer in charge of Hats
Staff member
Necromunda Custodian
Yak Comp 2nd Place
Tribe Council
Feb 8, 2013
9,386
12,156
283
Tilehurst, U.k.
1). no, they are not hit. the blast is a sphere not a column, so it will basically affect only the level that it its.

2). yes he is hit, no, he wouldnt benefit from cover. The cover isn't obstructing the model from the blast. however depending on base, if the front of the base is close enough to the wall it creates a 'lip' that the blast couldn't see, there would be light cover. As it stands from that example it looks like you could draw a straight line from the blast to any part of the green base, so no cover.
 

Thorgor

Of The YAQ
Oct 12, 2015
3,232
6,990
138
34
Issy-les-Moulineaux 92130 France
It depends whether you want the RAW or the sensible house-rule :whistle:

1. RAW, every fighter whose base is beneath the Blast marker is hit and only solid terrain feature can stop the Blast: the fighter is hit.
Sensible house-rule, everything within 2.5" of the center of the blast is hit: the fighter is not hit

2. I don't think this situation is possible but it depends on whether or not you consider ceilings as part of the tabletop. As spafe said, cover against Blast is determined from the center of the Blast marker, so (assuming you can do that), the enemy fighter wouldn't get any bonus (bases are ignored when checking cover though).
 

spafe

Executive Officer in charge of Hats
Staff member
Necromunda Custodian
Yak Comp 2nd Place
Tribe Council
Feb 8, 2013
9,386
12,156
283
Tilehurst, U.k.
1. RAW, every fighter whose base is beneath the Blast marker is hit and only solid terrain feature can stop the Blast: the fighter is hit.
Sensible house-rule, everything within 2.5" of the center of the blast is hit: the fighter is not hit
really? I could have sworn I'd seen somewhere that it didnt affect other levels... must be a hang over from previous editions
 
  • Like
Reactions: JawRippa