N18 Collected Errors/Typos in the House of Faith (Cawdor)

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,057
6,198
193
Norway
What is unclear about swapping equipment? The rules state that you can move wargear from a fighter to the stash any time you give them a new piece of wargear. A free zealot can come with up to 270 credits worth of free wargear that you can then move to your stash in exchange for a random piece of gear from the trading post. And that's only if you disallow duplicate items (i.e. you can't get infinite bags of free frag grenades)
Swapping equipment is back on the menu? I thought this was discussed back and forth for years...
 

Thorgor

Of The YAQ
Oct 12, 2015
4,780
11,130
148
37
Sevres 92130 France
Swapping equipment is back on the menu? I thought this was discussed back and forth for years...
Weapons are non-swappable (and have never been — despite some erroneous reference in the N18 books). Wargear is (and has been for a while, since they realized upgrading armour was otherwise impossible).

Edit: unless it was changed/clarified otherwise in Hive War, then I may have missed that.
 

MusingWarboss

Hive Guilder
Oct 31, 2013
2,875
6,806
193
...Bounce...

Ahem, I’ve just got a copy of this book and it states Second Printing on its contents page.

Quite a few of the errors listed on page one don’t exist in my edition. I think this might be a case of “Mysterious Corrected Edition” striking again.

My copy doesn’t say that Redemptionist zealots lose fast learner twice, it doesn’t list hot-headed as one of the skills lost though.
My Cawdor juve entry also doesn’t have the hot-headed rule.
I’ve got a physical copy of the book, are these errors in the pdf?
As you posted mid last year, it could be possible this book was corrected with a second Printing early on in its life. Could you check the contents page for this line please:

 

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,057
6,198
193
Norway
As seen in many cases before, also the Escher book's 2nd print, changes comes in 3 forms:
  • Fixing previous mistakes (good)
  • Adding new stuff with the change (bad)
  • Introducing new mistakes in an attempt to fix previous mistakes (ugly)
I'd like to see screenshots of all the parts that's changed, but it's a lot of work for little gain, so not sure it's worth it.

This is possibly the reason why there's no FAQ - we only need to buy the book again!
 
  • Sad
Reactions: MusingWarboss

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,057
6,198
193
Norway
My copy doesn’t say that Redemptionist zealots lose fast learner twice, it doesn’t list hot-headed as one of the skills lost though.
My Cawdor juve entry also doesn’t have the hot-headed rule.
I’ve got a physical copy of the book, are these errors in the pdf?

This is what I got in the pdf:
1646910032245.png


I think you got the same first version and same as the pdf. Seems like there's been some confusion here and possibly some reported errors doesn't exist or are inaccurate?

I removed this part as I wasn't able to find it again:
  • Redemptionist Juve (Zealot) Promotion lists special rules that are lost when promoted, "Fast Learner" is listed twice here.
    • Comment: Another copy-paste error, one of the "Fast Learner" should be replaced by "Hot-Headed".
However I added this one:
  • Redemptionist Juve (Zealot): Doesn't specify that Hot-headed is lost during promotion.
    • Comment: Redemptionist "prospects" should lose Hot-headed just like all other gangs.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: cardyfreak

MusingWarboss

Hive Guilder
Oct 31, 2013
2,875
6,806
193
However I added this one:
  • Redemptionist Juve (Zealot): Doesn't specify that Hot-headed is lost during promotion.
    • Comment: Redemptionist "prospects" should lose Hot-headed just like all other gangs.
Err... my Second Printing does specify hot-headed is lost.


You also can’t promote a Redemptionist to a Cawdor.
 

MusingWarboss

Hive Guilder
Oct 31, 2013
2,875
6,806
193
It might be worth adding a note in red text or a box above Internal Conflicts saying something like:

A Second Printing of this book is known and many of the issues listed below have been corrected. Any that have been identified as corrected are marked with [2].
The list below is kept for those who have the release edition.

Maybe too much work? But I can have a quick skim through at some point and see if it can locate what’s been updated.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ben_S

cardyfreak

Executive Officer in charge of Radishes
Staff member
Necromunda Custodian
Tribe Council
Sep 15, 2012
4,062
6,666
188
39
Alnwick, Northumberland
yaktribe.games
I’ve just checked mine and it does indeed say they lose fast learner. I have no idea what I’ve been looking at when I said it wasn’t there, though I remember being convinced it wasn’t when I posted originally 😂
It’s also there for the bonepicker entry. I have checked my book, it doesn’t say anything about which edition it is so I take that to mean it’s first ed, as i preordered the thing.

Apologies for the confusion, I’m finding that I get enveloped with brain fog due to medication I take, I think this may have been due to that 😂
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    547.1 KB · Views: 19

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,057
6,198
193
Norway
It might be worth adding a note in red text or a box above Internal Conflicts saying something like:

A Second Printing of this book is known and many of the issues listed below have been corrected. Any that have been identified as corrected are marked with [2].
The list below is kept for those who have the release edition.

Maybe too much work? But I can have a quick skim through at some point and see if it can locate what’s been updated.
There can be different combos that doesn't line up well with the current. Sure 1st print mistake fixed in 2nd print is easy, but we have also seen new mistake in 2nd print that doesn't exist in 1st print.

I already have a structure for it, so far the amount of reported fixes has been very few.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: MusingWarboss

MusingWarboss

Hive Guilder
Oct 31, 2013
2,875
6,806
193
Sure 1st print mistake fixed in 2nd print is easy, but we have also seen new mistake in 2nd print that doesn't exist in 1st print.

Oh Games Workshop... ok that’s just a silly merry go round of stuff. Maybe they’ll get it right for Sixth Printing??

This is a very annoying. I assume my Chains is the first as I got it when it came out and no idea if there’s a second but this Peril I’m currently browsing also doesn’t say anything about future editions but apparently there are.

How do they manage to mess this stuff up so frequently?
 
  • Like
Reactions: TopsyKretts

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,057
6,198
193
Norway
Ok ok sorry for being so dismissive. As there's currently only a few mistakes, I will take actions upon your suggestion to add 2nd print fixes directly to the list, replacing the comments, and in different color. Your suggestion made sense.

Not that I normally go out defending GW, I may have been a bit harsh on their mistake in the 2nd print. So far it's only been reported a single typo for a weapon name (the weapon profile was missing in the 1st print) in Escher book. However, I haven't had any 2nd print book fully available to study, and I wouldn't be surprised if they messed up something else. In other words, a very minor mistake, but still a mistake :p

Please bring more fixes in 2nd print of cawdor book, ideally with photos!
 

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,057
6,198
193
Norway
Apologies for the confusion, I’m finding that I get enveloped with brain fog due to medication I take, I think this may have been due to that 😂
I must have made the same mistake as I ususally double check the errors when listing them.

If anyone find more fixes in 2nd print, please share photos here. It would be nice to have an extensive change log.
 

MusingWarboss

Hive Guilder
Oct 31, 2013
2,875
6,806
193
Just a note: the new comprehensive PDF Errata/FAQ released to coincide with Ash Wastes includes all of the corrections made in the Second Printing.

Therefore if you have a First Printing you need to grab this PDF to bring you up to date.

There appears to be no corrections to the Second Printing. I assume this hold true across the range.