The notion of winding up arbitrators is alien to me, but that's a topic for another discussion (here: https://yaktribe.games/community/threads/the-arbitrator-a-discussion-with-poll.9821/#post-218442).
Actually just reread the N17 version and I think it definitely rules in favour of 2 pistols.Did this actually change from N17 to N18? What are your thoughts between RAW, RAI and what we as a community would prefer?
or if the other weapon is a pistol
The rule was written long time before the release of the GSC. This Is an evidence that the devs don't think about rules interaction.So no option for
Problem is, the rules for third arm (and only the ones for the Alpha, as the other versions don't have a third prehensile hand) only tell you that you can use a third weapon.
They don't tell you that using 1 Unwieldy weapon alongside another weapon is ok.
They don't tell you how attack dice are allocated if you use 1 Sidearm and 2 Melee weapons (logically, you allocate 1 attack dice to the Sidearm and the rest is divided as evenly as possible between the Melee weapons, but that's not RAW).
They don't tell you whether using three weapons give you 2 extra attack dice or only 1
That's what happens when the writers don't know how to future-proof their rules.
Want rules for combat that can manage any number of arms? It's easy:
- Select up to 2 weapons with the Melee or Sidearm trait (some effect may allow you to select more than 2 weapons).Weapons with the Unwieldy trait count as two weapons for this purpose
- Calculate the number of attack dice: it's equal to the fighter's Attacks characteristic plus the following bonuses:
- +1 if the attack is part of a Charge action
- +1 for each weapon selected beyond the first
- Assign attack dice to the selected weapons using the following rules:
- Assign 1 attack dice to each selected Sidearm
- If at least 1 Melee weapon has been selected, divide the remaining attack dice among the selected Melee weapons
- Otherwise, the remaining attack dice are resolved using the Unarmed profile
To include as many hands as you want, you may replace this phrase with "Select as many weapons with the Melee or Sidearm trait as the fighter has prehensile hands" (and keep everything else).
- Select up to 2 weapons with the Melee or Sidearm trait (some effect may allow you to select more than 2 weapons).
Nothing really breaks if another effect says the fighter can only use one weapon. I went the extra length to state that some effects can allow more than 2, but it doesn't mean no effect can restrict it to 1 or 0.Good - but even these (obviously vastly improved) rules fail if the fighter has less than two arms/hands that can hold a weapon...
The Alpha Third Arm explicitly allows for the use of a third weapon in combat (see TBoR p43: "may attack with three weapons with the Sidearm and/or Melee traits rather than the usual two"). What it doesn't tell you is how it works.We can guess at RAI or SHR ( Should have read) but RAW doesn't allow a third weapon in combat but does allow a fourth to be carried, but only if not using an unwieldy weapon.
lol, I thought they were cut and pasted.Nothing really breaks if another effect says the fighter can only use one weapon. I went the extra length to state that some effects can allow more than 2, but it doesn't mean no effect can restrict it to 1 or 0.
The Alpha Third Arm explicitly allows for the use of a third weapon in combat (see TBoR p43: "may attack with three weapons with the Sidearm and/or Melee traits rather than the usual two"). What it doesn't tell you is how it works.
The FAQ clarified that they are different on purpose. They Alpha's version got an errata so that it now reads "Additionally, a Cult Alpha with an Extra Arm may carry a fourth weapon, and may attack with three weapons..." instead of ""Additionally, any fighter with an Extra Arm may carry a fourth weapon, and may attack with three weapons..."extra arm on pg 44 & 45 (which I was reading) are identical but don't have the line "and may attack with a three weapons with the sidearm and melee trait" you quoted on page 43! so go figure..
I first read "that's how they decided to troll". It made perfect sense.that's how they decided to roll.