N18 Friendly model

May 20, 2021
8
20
3
Does a model count as a friendly model to itself? I always understood that you would but I have been told otherwise and am looking for clarification.
 
I don't play with N18, so not sure whether it's defined there. But I believe it is indeed the case for some GW systems (not sure which - Warcry perhaps?) that models are not friendly to themselves. So, it is plausible, even if counterintuitive.

(Personally, I think it would be simpler if friendly did include the model in question. It would be easy enough to say other friendly models if the model was supposed to be excluded.)
 
I don't play with N18, so not sure whether it's defined there. But I believe it is indeed the case for some GW systems (not sure which - Warcry perhaps?) that models are not friendly to themselves. So, it is plausible, even if counterintuitive.

(Personally, I think it would be simpler if friendly did include the model in question. It would be easy enough to say other friendly models if the model was supposed to be excluded.)
It's inconsistent throughout GWs games annoyingly.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Aulenback
Any particular effect? In general, in lack of clear rules, I would count self as friendly and also within any range.
 
What? You’ve never heard of self-loathing Goliaths? (“No matter how much I juice, I’m still the smallest guy in the forge…”)
 
Any particular effect? In general, in lack of clear rules, I would count self as friendly and also within any range.
The rocket pack for Nomads, it says the first time a friendly model runs out of ammo on a charge Caster within 3" of this model you can use the pack to automatically reload.
I have always presumed you could give one to the model itself but its been questioned.
 
He may hate himself... who knows? :unsure: but more seriously the way i see it the wording is similar to a blast template.

Once the Blast marker’s position has been established, every model (friend or foe) that lies beneath the Blast marker (fully or partially) is hit by the attack (unless there is a solid terrain feature between them and the centre of the Blast marker).

So yeah i will count as being able to do it to himself.