Gorkamorka FAQ

Ben_S

Hive Guilder
Honored Tribesman
Jul 26, 2015
3,916
5,989
158
Southampton, UK
Seeing as people seem to agree that downed models get thrown off the vehicle, I feel that the driver should be included in this in the absence of any further information to the contrary.
I don't see the logic of saying that two cases that are described differently should be treated the same 'in the absence of any further information to the contrary'. The different description is evidence to the contrary. It's clearly stated that downed crew fall off. There's no such statement regarding drivers, which surely suggests that they don't. If they were intended to do so then presumably that statement would be repeated.

Of course, it's not explicitly stated that drivers don't fall off, but lots of things aren't explicitly stated, e.g. nothing says that my Nob can't order an orbital barrage. There's no need for anything saying I can't, because there's nothing that says I can. Similarly, there's no need for anything saying that drivers don't fall off, because there's nothing that says they do. (This is assuming, of course, that I've not missed anything here - but you're not suggesting that I have.)

As @Azzabat demonstrates, you can house-rule whatever you like, but this thread is for questions about the rules, not suggested house rules. Adding things to the rules just because the rules as written don't have anything to the contrary, is house-ruling it, rather than interpreting the rules.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Flamekebab

Flamekebab

Gang Hero
Gorkamorka Warboss
Feb 17, 2011
926
1,845
113
32
Rotherham, UK
fox-box.co.uk
I agree with @Ben_S on this, chaps. Drivers are distinctly separate in the rules from the rest of the crew. They can be thrown overboard if someone beats them in hand to hand combat but unless that happens they stay aboard.

From the vehicle hit location tables:
1 CREW (random member) - Armour value: 8
...
If any warrior goes down from a hit the warrior will fall off the vehicle and land D3" away in a random direction, suffering another S3 hit on a D6 roll of 4 or more.
The driver location does not stipulate that:
5 DRIVER – Armour value: 8
...
If the driver goes down, is taken out of action or pinned then the vehicle will swerve and move D6" ahead immediately.
Crew are hanging onto a moving vehicle wherever they can find something to cling to. A driver is sitting down at the controls with plenty keeping his arse parked.

The FAQ's job is to clarify the existing rules as much as possible. Groups are free to change their collective interpretations of them however they choose but ideally we should be working from a common starting point (y)

I think the Pilin' On rule is the only exception to this as no one can quite agree on what the original rule means :ROFLMAO:
 
  • Like
Reactions: ineptmule and Ben_S

Azzabat

Hive Guilder
Yak Comp 1st Place
Tribe Council
Jan 24, 2013
3,734
7,123
153
52
Bristol, UK
I was just going to make that very point that according to pages 62 and 63 of the rules, the hit locations for Crew (1) and Drivers (5) are separate, so therefore intended to be treated separately.
 

Ben_S

Hive Guilder
Honored Tribesman
Jul 26, 2015
3,916
5,989
158
Southampton, UK
Indeed, I was taking that for granted, though it's worth emphasising.

Someone might say 'isn't the driver part of the crew?' but - just to pre-empt that response - note that if there are no crew then a roll of 1 hits the driver instead, so clearly the driver is not considered to be part of the crew.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Flamekebab

Kon-rad

Gang Champion
Nov 11, 2014
304
823
93
Nagoya, Japan
Good catch on the driver/crew difference. I would have (er... have been...) miss(ing) that.

Actually only spotted the whole FAQ today. Quick question

Q: What happens if your opponent performs a slow speed manoeuvre when you are tailing him? He could turn his vehicle around to almost face you, and there's no way to stay behind him.
A:
Slamming on the brakes to perform a slow speed manoeuvre is generally a bad idea when being tailed, although we're not going to stop anyone making that choice! The pursuer immediately hits the vehicle it's tailing inflicting a shunt-type ram (see page 37 of Da Roolz). This also ends the tail.


I like it, but that's not in the rules is it? There never was an official FAQ from GeeDub was there? Irregardless, this situation has come up in our recent games. In one instance, we used the "make a LD test to re-position the taliling/racing vehicle" rule, as it was the only one we could find and there was literally no other way the tailing vehicle could make it around other vehicles and other obstructions. Would have been a very cinematic, Dukes-of-Hazard, jump.

Here a question. How do you guys count crippled vehicles in terms of moving around on, or through? There is nothing I can find beside the bit on pg 44 about stationary vehicles counting as "part of the scenery". We took that to mean "terrain" and so, we have been counting them as difficult terrain. You don't get more stationary than a burning wreck. We've had Trakks run over them (and Squiggoths stomp through them...missed the guys hiding in the wreckage though....).
By extension, we always treated crippled vehicles as merely terrain for shooting too. Models in the wreck count as footers for targeting. I don't think there is anything in the rules spelling that out though. What do you boyz think?
 

Flamekebab

Gang Hero
Gorkamorka Warboss
Feb 17, 2011
926
1,845
113
32
Rotherham, UK
fox-box.co.uk
I like it, but that's not in the rules is it?
It's not in there verbatim, no. The FAQ's purpose isn't to reiterate the rules as they exist in the text but to clarify how they should be applied. To the best of my understanding of the rules the only way to lose a tail is to force them to fail a Leadership test (for turning or repositioning) or a thrust test. It's a chase though, not synchronised trukking - slowing down will result in a ram just as if the chased vehicle had failed a thrust test.

There never was an official FAQ from GeeDub was there?
I've never seen one or heard of one and I've scoured the 'net for everything related to Gorkamorka. I could still be wrong though!

In one instance, we used the "make a LD test to re-position the taliling/racing vehicle" rule, as it was the only one we could find and there was literally no other way the tailing vehicle could make it around other vehicles and other obstructions. Would have been a very cinematic, Dukes-of-Hazard, jump.
That sounds like exactly the sort of situation the rule is for (y)

Here a question. How do you guys count crippled vehicles in terms of moving around on, or through? There is nothing I can find beside the bit on pg 44 about stationary vehicles counting as "part of the scenery". We took that to mean "terrain" and so, we have been counting them as difficult terrain. You don't get more stationary than a burning wreck. We've had Trakks run over them (and Squiggoths stomp through them...missed the guys hiding in the wreckage though....).
By extension, we always treated crippled vehicles as merely terrain for shooting too. Models in the wreck count as footers for targeting. I don't think there is anything in the rules spelling that out though. What do you boyz think?
I'd suggest WYSIWYG. If it was Richard's Da Trakk then I'd suggest Very Difficult Ground, for example:

But if it was a Digga bike or some other small thing I'd consider it Open Ground to vehicles and difficult ground to models on foot.

By extension, we always treated crippled vehicles as merely terrain for shooting too. Models in the wreck count as footers for targeting. I don't think there is anything in the rules spelling that out though. What do you boyz think?
If a vehicle becomes terrain when it's wrecked it becomes terrain - sounds like your interpretation is spot on.

I'll add both to the FAQ in a little while (y)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ben_S

DracoPT

Ganger
Jun 30, 2015
59
95
18
Portugal
Guys, I was reading the rules of the game once more and I have a question:

For the purposes of the Rapid Fire dakka skill, what is a "weapon type"? eg. its all "Shootas" or all weapons in the "Gunz" section? And if I get that skill a second time I can chose another section like Hand-to-Hand or just Sluggas?

Q: What if they have a Choppa and a Six-Shoota that needs to spend a shooting phase being reloaded - does it still confer the +1 Attack bonus?
I guess we can imagine they don't just blast their enemies in the face with their pistols, but can use it to bash it in the head even without being reloaded, so it can still confer the +1 bonus.

I hope I could help :)
 

Flamekebab

Gang Hero
Gorkamorka Warboss
Feb 17, 2011
926
1,845
113
32
Rotherham, UK
fox-box.co.uk
Guys, I was reading the rules of the game once more and I have a question:

For the purposes of the Rapid Fire dakka skill, what is a "weapon type"? eg. its all "Shootas" or all weapons in the "Gunz" section? And if I get that skill a second time I can chose another section like Hand-to-Hand or just Sluggas?
It applies to a specific named weapon type, so you could have Rapid Fire - Sluggas, but not Rapid Fire - Hand-to-Hand Weapons.
This skill only works with a specified kind of gun or hand-to-hand weapon, eg Rapid Fire – Shootas
Q: What if they have a Choppa and a Six-Shoota that needs to spend a shooting phase being reloaded - does it still confer the +1 Attack bonus?
I guess we can imagine they don't just blast their enemies in the face with their pistols, but can use it to bash it in the head even without being reloaded, so it can still confer the +1 bonus.

I hope I could help :)
Probably the best way to play it (y)

I'll amend the FAQ later - got to go catch a train now :(
 
  • Like
Reactions: DracoPT

Ben_S

Hive Guilder
Honored Tribesman
Jul 26, 2015
3,916
5,989
158
Southampton, UK
Q: What if they have a Choppa and a Six-Shoota that needs to spend a shooting phase being reloaded - does it still confer the +1 Attack bonus?
I guess we can imagine they don't just blast their enemies in the face with their pistols, but can use it to bash it in the head even without being reloaded, so it can still confer the +1 bonus.
I thought that was answered no back in the day (I assume I'm thinking of some official FAQ, but I'm not certain of this).

In any case, I would think it should be no. If the answer were a yes, then surely a pistol that was out of ammo (due to failing an ammo roll) should also count for +1A. I assume that shouldn't be the case.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DracoPT

DracoPT

Ganger
Jun 30, 2015
59
95
18
Portugal
I thought that was answered no back in the day (I assume I'm thinking of some official FAQ, but I'm not certain of this).

In any case, I would think it should be no. If the answer were a yes, then surely a pistol that was out of ammo (due to failing an ammo roll) should also count for +1A. I assume that shouldn't be the case.
You make an interesting point that I could agree with, but in the rules they state fluffwise that when a gun fail it's ammo check it's not only out of ammo but can be bits of the gun falling or duds, becoming "useless". The six-shoota when is fired and is out-of-ammo it didn't made (and fail) any ammo roll so technically it didn't became "useless" because you can spend a shooting turn reloading it, that's why I think it still confer the bonus.

I think this is the RAW (Rules As Written) way of looking to it.
 

Ben_S

Hive Guilder
Honored Tribesman
Jul 26, 2015
3,916
5,989
158
Southampton, UK
Fluffwise, you can justify whatever you like (why can't you use a Shoota as a makeshift club?), but I don't see any RAW justification for that.

When you use a pistol in close combat, you use the pistol's profile (e.g. S value). That strongly suggests that the pistol is being fired, rather than used for pistol-whipping. It makes no sense to use that profile if the pistol is out of ammo, whether it be due to a failed ammo roll or needing to reload.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Flamekebab

Flamekebab

Gang Hero
Gorkamorka Warboss
Feb 17, 2011
926
1,845
113
32
Rotherham, UK
fox-box.co.uk
I thought that was answered no back in the day (I assume I'm thinking of some official FAQ, but I'm not certain of this).
To the best of my knowledge there never was a Gorkamorka FAQ but I feel like something like that was the case for Necromunda.

When you use a pistol in close combat, you use the pistol's profile (e.g. S value). That strongly suggests that the pistol is being fired, rather than used for pistol-whipping.
I think this probably settles it - if a weapon cannot be fired due to ammo roll or reloading it's not usable in Hand-to-Hand combat.
HAFe8Yr.gif
 
  • Like
Reactions: DracoPT

DracoPT

Ganger
Jun 30, 2015
59
95
18
Portugal
Can a model be armed with 2 shields at the same time? for example, 'Eavy Armor gives a 4+ and with 2 shields it can become a 2+ armor save (a shield gives +1 to armor)? and if it can then how about combat, it can still hit? And it gives 2 Blocks on combat?
 

Flamekebab

Gang Hero
Gorkamorka Warboss
Feb 17, 2011
926
1,845
113
32
Rotherham, UK
fox-box.co.uk
Can a model be armed with 2 shields at the same time? for example, 'Eavy Armor gives a 4+ and with 2 shields it can become a 2+ armor save (a shield gives +1 to armor)? and if it can then how about combat, it can still hit? And it gives 2 Blocks on combat?
I think you may just have found a loophole! To the best of my knowledge there's no rule prohibiting it.

That said only two hand-to-hand weapons can be used at a time (although a warrior can carry as many as desired) and the kinds of shields one would expect in Gorkamorka would be held in one hand. Using two at once would mean the model fights with a WS of 0 and has 0 attacks.
 
  • Like
Reactions: DracoPT

DracoPT

Ganger
Jun 30, 2015
59
95
18
Portugal
That said only two hand-to-hand weapons can be used at a time (although a warrior can carry as many as desired) and the kinds of shields one would expect in Gorkamorka would be held in one hand. Using two at once would mean the model fights with a WS of 0 and has 0 attacks.
So, I'm thinking about this tactic: the rules says you have to shoot/charge the nearest model right? so you give to your toughest guys (preferably T5) 'Eavy Armor, 2 shields and a choppa and on foot they'll be in front of the rest of the mob tanking almost anything with a 2+ armor save (guns ignores the bonus of the shields). Then when they charge you they'll charge these 2 tanks and they'll get a bunch of attacks but you'll get at least a 3+ armor save and up to 2 rerrolls on the Attack Dice of the other guys. If they manage to survive then you can charge safely with the rest of the mob and then you swap one of the shields to a choppa
 

Kon-rad

Gang Champion
Nov 11, 2014
304
823
93
Nagoya, Japan
2 shields.....That is utterly silly, which is to say, utterly appropriate for Gorkamorka. The mobility vehicles give you, a mobster acting like a wall on foot is probably a fairly limited tactic. (Just drive around/run over him...) I'd love to see the kit-bash though!
 

Ben_S

Hive Guilder
Honored Tribesman
Jul 26, 2015
3,916
5,989
158
Southampton, UK
Using two at once would mean the model fights with a WS of 0 and has 0 attacks.
Where do you get that from?

I'd suggest something like you fight at normal WS and A, but if you win you don't actually cause any hits, because you have no weapon to strike with. I don't see why having two shields would make it easier for the opponent to hit you multiple times though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Flamekebab