Hired Swords and your experiences with them.

Tulkas

Mr. Shadowlord
Mordheim Professor
Yak Supporter
Mar 23, 2012
Netherlands, Groningen
Hi chaps, I'm looking for your views on the various Hired Swords (click here for a list of them from Mordheimer) that can be hired by your band of ne'er-do-wells. Only actual experiences using them please, strengths and weaknesses, etc. I recently started playing again and I'm thinking of adding a Bounty Hunter to my Witch Hunters, as it seems he might help make some quick cash (and would be a great hand taking down a Possessed hero of my friend's posse). Said Possessed might also help me make alot of cash (half his initial worth as gold reward, for instance) for more trinkets and other mercenaries. Anyway, once I've hired me a few, I'll add to the conversation.

Reactions: Biggle_Bear

notprop

Ganger
May 17, 2013
Wickford, Essex, UK
I'm currently rocking an Ogre Merc (Stinkin' Link) in my Undead warband and have found him to be Uber useful this may in part be because he synergises (yeah that's right) with my Vampire Leader so well, though allot of the benefits I have found would apply to using him alone.

80gp to hire is steep (+35 up keep) and this will lead many to think Ogres are not points effective. This is a bit situational. In my Undead band we are happy with the tools (claws) that undeath have gifted us with so don't need to buy too much equipment, so upkeep isn't an issue. If you want to buy all the latest doodads then you might not want to splash out. I think its worth it.