N18 How does Continuous Effects & Maintain Control work?

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Dec 29, 2017
7,464
7,802
193
Norway
How did Continuous Effects & Maintain Control used to work? How does it work now after the new rulebook?

Particularly about when it expires and when you need to Maintain Control to keep it in play.

RuleN18 & N22FAQN23
MAINTAIN CONTROL (SIMPLE)In order to maintain a Continuous Effect (as follows), the psyker must perform this action. If they do not, the Continuous Effect expires at the end of this fighter’s activation. The Psyker immediately makes a Willpower check, adding 3 to the result of the dice roll.Continuous Effect expires at the beginning of this fighter's activation.?
USING WYRD POWERSSome Wyrd Power (X) actions are noted as being a Continuous Effect. Such a power lasts from when the psyker performs the action until the start of their next activation when it will expire, unless their first action is to perform a Maintain Control (Simple) action, in which case the Continuous Effect remains in play for another round.N/ASome Wyrd Power (X) actions are noted as being a Continuous Effect. Such a power lasts from when the psyker performs the action until the end of their next activation when it will expire, unless they perform a Maintain Control (Simple) action during their activation, in which case the Continuous Effect remains in play for another round.
 
Last edited:
I thought that would make sense. But why did the "Using Wyrd Powers" section update the wording from "start of their next activation" to "end of their next activation"?

I think it would make sense if Maintain Control and Using Wyrd Powers would match.
RuleN18 (with FAQ)N23
Maintain Controlstart?
Using Wyrd Powersstartend
They took the time to update this in this book, something which has never been done before.

As a side note, why did the 2022 April FAQ fix the Maintain Control of N18 rulebook, but NOT the exact same text in N22 rulebook?
 
Last edited:
I haven't seen the new rulebook yet, only Goonhammer's review of it. If the powers expire at the end of next activation and you can maintain control as a free action, then continuous powers got a huge buff.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: MyLonelyDeer
image-png.png


Yes, if this is intentional it's a double buff to CE. However, this has some consequences. The FAQ entry for Maintain Control needs to be removed (however since N18 rulebook is now replaced, the entire section will probably disappear). A similar entry for "Using Wyrd Powers" must be added instead for N22 rulebook.

And then, this new rulebook also needs to specify END for it's passage on Maintain Control.
 
I wouldn't concern myself with any FAQs, we have a major rework of Injury Dice resolution for example. Perhaps the maintain control specification is so you can't cast a power and maintain it in the same activation, so in your next activation the power automatically gets refreshed?