Introduction to Mordheim

Discussion in 'Mordheim' started by Ben_S, Nov 20, 2018.

1. Ben_S

Ben_S Hive Guilder
    Honored Tribesman

It seems that a few people in my Blood Bowl group might be interested in Mordheim. There's a mixture of people who have played the game before, but not in years (this includes me, though I don't think I've ever played a campaign - probably only 5-10 one off games) and a couple of people who've never even heard of it but are open to giving it a try.

What's the best way to introduce the game? I'm aware that there are a lot of unofficial rule updates and supplements out there, with things like 'Coreheim' and additional warbands of varying levels of brokenness (*cough*elves*cough*), but I've no personal experience of these things.

Is it best just to use the original rules and put up with the dominance of sling-spam and dual hand weapons?

spafe likes this.
  2. spafe

spafe Executive Officer in charge of Hats
    Staff Member Necromunda Custodian Tribe Council Yak Comp 2nd Place

I honestly suggest saying no more than 25% of the warband can be armed with missile weapons, and add something like a -1 to hit while duel wielding (can always add a skill to negate this if you like under combat), then use the core warbands. If you do that you have a pretty balanced set to choose from and while not perfect, it stops the really obvs abuses (if you need to lower skaven by a couple max size too)

Ben_S likes this.
  3. Azzabat

Azzabat Hive Guilder
    Tribe Council Yak Comp 1st Place

I agree with @spafe. Too many missile troops and you just end up hunkered down in cover shooting each other.

For a first game I’ve always believed good terrain is essential. It makes such a difference. It doesn’t have to be beautifully made, or fantastically painted, just good terrain.

Mordheim is all about the ruined city, so get some foam board/cardboard, make a few templates and glue it together.