N18 Knockback?

Jan 12, 2021
54
31
43
So, this came up:

Fighter A is shooting at Fighter B with a weapon that has the Knockback rule, and needs a 4+ to hit. Fighter A rolls to hit and gets a 3, which misses. The Knockback rule, however, says that if the 'To Hit' roll equals or exceeds the target's Strength, the target is pushed back. Fighter A claims that Fighter B should be pushed back, even though the shot missed.

Shirley, that can't be right?

Thanks!
 

Guydob

Ganger
Nov 19, 2018
98
578
103
Russia
It also doesn't say the hit roll result isn't affected by modifiers. So an Orlock Juve w/ a Sawn-off can aim-shoot at long distance and knockback a T3 model on anything but a 1.
 
  • Haha
Reactions: JawRippa

JawRippa

Gang Hero
Mar 31, 2017
1,471
2,074
138
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Clearly not intended I'd say. But yeah, Knockback has probably the worst and most confusing wording out of all weapon traits, second only to Versatile. I still wonder how multiple melee attacks with knockback should work and does rapid fire with knocback which rolled 3 hits push target that many inches away.
 

Kiro The Avenger

Gang Hero
Apr 4, 2018
1,693
2,227
128
Bristol, UK
It also doesn't say the hit roll result isn't affected by modifiers. So an Orlock Juve w/ a Sawn-off can aim-shoot at long distance and knockback a T3 model on anything but a 1.
Modifiers are applied to the roll, so if you have a -2 and the dice shows five dots, you technically rolled a three.