I've started compiling a list of questions that still need an official answer.
I think it's best to start a new thread for this since the goal is different from the existing FAQ sticky thread (I just want to list all the questions, big and small, so that they can be sent to GW in a single Yaktribe-approved e-mail and hopefully get an official answer in a future FAQ update, not try and get a community answer to them.) However, feel free to merge the 2 threads if I'm mistaken.
It's still a work in progress, I'm sure there are a lot of things I'm forgetting. Please, feel free to propose any question I may have overlooked and I will add them to the OP ASAP.
Don't hesitate either to tell me if any of those questions have already been answered in any official document (as useful as they may be to understand what was intended, isolated Facebook answers by game devs don't count here), I may very well have missed something in the existing FAQ.
Here we go:
I think it's best to start a new thread for this since the goal is different from the existing FAQ sticky thread (I just want to list all the questions, big and small, so that they can be sent to GW in a single Yaktribe-approved e-mail and hopefully get an official answer in a future FAQ update, not try and get a community answer to them.) However, feel free to merge the 2 threads if I'm mistaken.
It's still a work in progress, I'm sure there are a lot of things I'm forgetting. Please, feel free to propose any question I may have overlooked and I will add them to the OP ASAP.
Don't hesitate either to tell me if any of those questions have already been answered in any official document (as useful as they may be to understand what was intended, isolated Facebook answers by game devs don't count here), I may very well have missed something in the existing FAQ.
March 11 edit:
The list has been sent to the FAQ e-mail address. I'll continue to update the list but further questions will be written in orange (and corresponding spoiler marked with *NEW*) to set them apart from the previous ones.
The list has been sent to the FAQ e-mail address. I'll continue to update the list but further questions will be written in orange (and corresponding spoiler marked with *NEW*) to set them apart from the previous ones.
Here we go:
The FAQ for moving appears to contradict itself on the subject of whether a model is obliged to move its full distance or not. In the first paragraph it says 'A fighter is not obliged to move their full movement allowance, they can move any distance up to their movement allowance, but they cannot move further'; in the next, it says 'move the fighter as far as possible in the desired direction'. Could you clarify which sentence is correct, or if they are both correct but apply in different situations, which situations they apply to?
In the FAQ for moving, could you clarify what the term 'general direction' means? I gather this is not a point or model on the table, as this would be a specific direction, but how 'general' is general?
What exactly happens when a fighter with 2 Wounds left is wounded by an attack with Damage 2? The rules seem to imply that they need to roll 2 Injury dice regardless of the number of wounds they had left. Shouldn't they roll only 1 injury dice? (the first damage taking away 1 wound, and the second taking the last wound and forcing the Injury roll)
Since a Standard (or Half or Double) move cannot be used to 'move within 1" of a standing or pinned enemy' (Necromunda:Underhive page 47), what happens when a fighter starts such a move within 1" of a standing or pinned enemy fighter? (for instance, it could be a Seriously injured fighter trying to crawl away from a pinned enemy)
What happens if two Engaged fighters become Pinned at the same time (because they were both hit with a Blast attack for instance) and one of them later Stand up? Does it count as the fighter 'moving into contact' with the still-pinned fighter, causing them to automatically stand up and engage the first one?
In the FAQ for moving, could you clarify what the term 'general direction' means? I gather this is not a point or model on the table, as this would be a specific direction, but how 'general' is general?
What exactly happens when a fighter with 2 Wounds left is wounded by an attack with Damage 2? The rules seem to imply that they need to roll 2 Injury dice regardless of the number of wounds they had left. Shouldn't they roll only 1 injury dice? (the first damage taking away 1 wound, and the second taking the last wound and forcing the Injury roll)
Since a Standard (or Half or Double) move cannot be used to 'move within 1" of a standing or pinned enemy' (Necromunda:Underhive page 47), what happens when a fighter starts such a move within 1" of a standing or pinned enemy fighter? (for instance, it could be a Seriously injured fighter trying to crawl away from a pinned enemy)
What happens if two Engaged fighters become Pinned at the same time (because they were both hit with a Blast attack for instance) and one of them later Stand up? Does it count as the fighter 'moving into contact' with the still-pinned fighter, causing them to automatically stand up and engage the first one?
The Charge action doesn't require the player to designate a target. However, the Fearsome trait reads 'If an enemy makes a Charge action that targets this fighter...'. Should the Charge action require a target?
What happens if a charging fighter has enough movement to move within 1" of a standing enemy fighter but can't make it to base contact? The rules state that 'if they do, they must move into base contact, becoming Engaged'. Does it mean that the fighter is automatically moved into base contact (basically gaining 1" of free charge movement), or that such a move is illegal and they must stay more than 1" away from enemy fighters if they can't reach base contact?
What happens if a charging fighter moves within 1" of several standing enemy fighters? Must they engage all of them, or is engaging one enough to satisfy the 'must move into base contact' condition? If they must engage all of them, what happens if they physically can't? (because of the terrain, or because they only have enough movement to engage the closest fighter for instance.)
As modified by the FAQ, the Charge action now forces a charging fighter to move into base contact and engage a Seriously injured fighter if they move within 1" of them. However, Seriously Injured fighters can't become engaged. Is this an error?
The Retreat action reads differently in Necromunda:Underhive (as modified by the FAQ) and in the Reference Sheet. The rulebook implies that the enemy fighter can make a Reaction attack (if they pass an Initiative check) even if the retreating fighter passed their own Initiative check and is no longer Engaged, while the reference sheet states clearly that the Reaction attack can only happen if the retreating fighter fails their Initiative check and stay Engaged. Which one is correct?
Assuming that the Hand-Flamer being a pistol without the Pistol trait is intended, can it be fired when using the Twin Gun Blazing action? It's unclear whether 'pistol' refers to the weapon category or the trait.
What happens if a charging fighter has enough movement to move within 1" of a standing enemy fighter but can't make it to base contact? The rules state that 'if they do, they must move into base contact, becoming Engaged'. Does it mean that the fighter is automatically moved into base contact (basically gaining 1" of free charge movement), or that such a move is illegal and they must stay more than 1" away from enemy fighters if they can't reach base contact?
What happens if a charging fighter moves within 1" of several standing enemy fighters? Must they engage all of them, or is engaging one enough to satisfy the 'must move into base contact' condition? If they must engage all of them, what happens if they physically can't? (because of the terrain, or because they only have enough movement to engage the closest fighter for instance.)
As modified by the FAQ, the Charge action now forces a charging fighter to move into base contact and engage a Seriously injured fighter if they move within 1" of them. However, Seriously Injured fighters can't become engaged. Is this an error?
The Retreat action reads differently in Necromunda:Underhive (as modified by the FAQ) and in the Reference Sheet. The rulebook implies that the enemy fighter can make a Reaction attack (if they pass an Initiative check) even if the retreating fighter passed their own Initiative check and is no longer Engaged, while the reference sheet states clearly that the Reaction attack can only happen if the retreating fighter fails their Initiative check and stay Engaged. Which one is correct?
Assuming that the Hand-Flamer being a pistol without the Pistol trait is intended, can it be fired when using the Twin Gun Blazing action? It's unclear whether 'pistol' refers to the weapon category or the trait.
What does True grit apply to exactly? As written, it only applies to Injury rolls proper, meaning, for instance, that it doesn't work when an injury dice is rolled for a Stimm-slug stash overload. Also, the wording 'Against attack with Damage 1, roll two dice...' is oddly specific. What happens if an Injury roll of 1 dice must be made that wasn't caused by an attack? (for instance, a fighter falling 3"-5")
The rules for Unstoppable currently state that 'if they do not have any flesh wounds and the result is 4 or more, roll one additional dice for their recovery check', is this correct as it means that the character is more likely to go Out of Action which seems opposed to the intent of the skill? Should it say "roll one additional dice for their recovery check and pick one"?
Could you clarify how the Savvy Trader skill works? Is its bonus only applied to one of the rare items purchased or to all of them? What if two or more fighters with this skill each make a Trade action? Do you get a -40 credits discount on a single item? Can the discount be applied on rare items that are also part of the gang's house equipment list to make them cheaper?
Does a Genestealer cult's Familiar need to be within 4" of the Adept to be group-activated when he is? The rules state that 'The Familiar is always activated at the same time as the Adept' but they also state that it happens 'in the same way that a Group Activation'.
If a fighter with the Backstab skill 'shoots' an enemy fighter in the back at range with a Versatile weapon, does the +1 Strength bonus apply?
The FAQ for Bulging Biceps seems to imply that it is now only useful with Unwieldy close combat weapons and that shooting an Unwieldy ranged weapon will still be a double action. Is this correct?
The rules for Unstoppable currently state that 'if they do not have any flesh wounds and the result is 4 or more, roll one additional dice for their recovery check', is this correct as it means that the character is more likely to go Out of Action which seems opposed to the intent of the skill? Should it say "roll one additional dice for their recovery check and pick one"?
Could you clarify how the Savvy Trader skill works? Is its bonus only applied to one of the rare items purchased or to all of them? What if two or more fighters with this skill each make a Trade action? Do you get a -40 credits discount on a single item? Can the discount be applied on rare items that are also part of the gang's house equipment list to make them cheaper?
Does a Genestealer cult's Familiar need to be within 4" of the Adept to be group-activated when he is? The rules state that 'The Familiar is always activated at the same time as the Adept' but they also state that it happens 'in the same way that a Group Activation'.
If a fighter with the Backstab skill 'shoots' an enemy fighter in the back at range with a Versatile weapon, does the +1 Strength bonus apply?
The FAQ for Bulging Biceps seems to imply that it is now only useful with Unwieldy close combat weapons and that shooting an Unwieldy ranged weapon will still be a double action. Is this correct?
The FAQ confirmed that Rapid Fire can be used in close combat. How does it work exactly? Is the attacking player allowed to split the hits between multiple targets if they score more than 1 hit?
As modified by the FAQ, Toxin now replaces the Wound roll. Since Toxin cannot result in a wound (the enemy fighter will either be completely unharmed, Seriously Injured or Out of Action), does it mean that Toxin also bypasses Armour save and multiple Wounds like Gas does? If it doesn't, then how does it work exactly? (Necromunda:Underhive p52 states that 'If the attack causes a wound, and the target is equipped with any armour, the opponent makes a save roll') And if it does, what is the point of Toxin weapons having an AP value?
Since Gas (and now maybe Toxin) bypass Wounds, what happens when a fighter with 2 Wounds who has been Seriously injured by a Gas weapon recovers? Do they get up with their 2 Wounds intact?
Do Gas and Toxin work the same way against inorganic targets, like doors?
When the Ammo check is failed for an ammo type with the Limited trait, the ammo type is deleted from the Fighter's card. Should its cost also be subtracted from the Fighter's value?
Can a fighter carry several 'doses' of the same Limited ammo type for one of their weapon?
Since Blast and Template weapons never target a fighter, they don't have to abide by the rules for target priority, never suffer penalty for cover and can hit a fighter in hiding (prone and in cover). Is this intentional?
How do Blast weapons interact with ductways? They don't target a fighter so they can't use the generic rules for the Fire through action, but it doesn't make any exception for them as it does with Template weapons.
As modified by the FAQ, Toxin now replaces the Wound roll. Since Toxin cannot result in a wound (the enemy fighter will either be completely unharmed, Seriously Injured or Out of Action), does it mean that Toxin also bypasses Armour save and multiple Wounds like Gas does? If it doesn't, then how does it work exactly? (Necromunda:Underhive p52 states that 'If the attack causes a wound, and the target is equipped with any armour, the opponent makes a save roll') And if it does, what is the point of Toxin weapons having an AP value?
Since Gas (and now maybe Toxin) bypass Wounds, what happens when a fighter with 2 Wounds who has been Seriously injured by a Gas weapon recovers? Do they get up with their 2 Wounds intact?
Do Gas and Toxin work the same way against inorganic targets, like doors?
When the Ammo check is failed for an ammo type with the Limited trait, the ammo type is deleted from the Fighter's card. Should its cost also be subtracted from the Fighter's value?
Can a fighter carry several 'doses' of the same Limited ammo type for one of their weapon?
Since Blast and Template weapons never target a fighter, they don't have to abide by the rules for target priority, never suffer penalty for cover and can hit a fighter in hiding (prone and in cover). Is this intentional?
How do Blast weapons interact with ductways? They don't target a fighter so they can't use the generic rules for the Fire through action, but it doesn't make any exception for them as it does with Template weapons.
Since lasting injuries may happen during the game and fighters recover in step 5.A, after post-battle actions are carried out in step 4, a Leader/Champion who suffers a lasting injury and goes into recovery will miss 2 games worth of post-battle actions. Is this intentional?
The rules for hired guns state that their value is added to the gang rating, however, they are hired during the pre-battle actions, and the gang rating appears to only be updated during the post-battle actions (step E — Gang War 1 page 25). How does it work exactly?
Gang War 1 page 23 only precludes fighters from doing post-battle actions if they are captured or in recovery. Technically, seriously injured fighters that rolled a 61-65 and need to be escorted to the doc are not in recovery yet and can do post-battle actions (as do dead fighters, since they haven't been removed from the gang roster yet at this point). Could you clarify this point?
The rules for hired guns state that their value is added to the gang rating, however, they are hired during the pre-battle actions, and the gang rating appears to only be updated during the post-battle actions (step E — Gang War 1 page 25). How does it work exactly?
Gang War 1 page 23 only precludes fighters from doing post-battle actions if they are captured or in recovery. Technically, seriously injured fighters that rolled a 61-65 and need to be escorted to the doc are not in recovery yet and can do post-battle actions (as do dead fighters, since they haven't been removed from the gang roster yet at this point). Could you clarify this point?
The rules for the Genestealer cult's Adept state that 'Additional Adept Abilities may be purchased in the same way as though they were a Secondary skill set'. How does it work exactly? According to Gang War 1 p16, Secondary skills can only be purchased at random for 9 XP. Does it mean that Adept Abilities are also chosen at random even though there are only four of them? Should we roll 1D4?
Since they don't pay the 2 XP 'tax' for each previous advancements, should the advancements purchased/gained by Juves and Gangers still be recorded? In other words, will they suddenly have to pay a huge tax when they are promoted to Champion/Specialist?
Does being promoted to Champion change a fighter's armour or characteristic caps? If it doesn't, then it means that juves-turned-champions are forever stuck with no armour and a low cap for characteristics like Attacks or Wounds. Is it intentional?
The ganger advancement table has a result of 3-4 give a WS/BS for +5 credits and a result of 8-9 give a Wil/Int increase for +20 credits. Shouldn't it be the other way around? (BS/WS should be more likely and more valuable, as it is on the non-ganger advancement table)
Could you clarify how gangers advancements work exactly? The rules make it sound like gangers gain advancement mid-game whenever they reach 6 XP (as opposed to other fighters who get their advancements during the pre-battle sequence), is it correct? Also, what happens if a ganger goes from 5 to 7 XP? (thanks to a Mentor bonus for instance), do the go back to 0XP, or do they only 'spend' 6 XP and keep the change?
Do the starting skills of Leaders and Champions count as an advancement as far as the 2 XP 'tax' goes? The rules from Gang War 1 page 14 imply they do, but the example given page 16 ignores them.
According to Gang War 1 page 16, 'A fighter gains 1 Experience if their action causes an enemy fighter to go Out of Action' but only if 'the enemy is taken out during the action itself'. Does it mean that, if a fighter is Seriously Injured by an enemy's action and then goes Out of Action later as a result of a Recovery test, no fighter is awarded any Experience?
Since they don't pay the 2 XP 'tax' for each previous advancements, should the advancements purchased/gained by Juves and Gangers still be recorded? In other words, will they suddenly have to pay a huge tax when they are promoted to Champion/Specialist?
Does being promoted to Champion change a fighter's armour or characteristic caps? If it doesn't, then it means that juves-turned-champions are forever stuck with no armour and a low cap for characteristics like Attacks or Wounds. Is it intentional?
The ganger advancement table has a result of 3-4 give a WS/BS for +5 credits and a result of 8-9 give a Wil/Int increase for +20 credits. Shouldn't it be the other way around? (BS/WS should be more likely and more valuable, as it is on the non-ganger advancement table)
Could you clarify how gangers advancements work exactly? The rules make it sound like gangers gain advancement mid-game whenever they reach 6 XP (as opposed to other fighters who get their advancements during the pre-battle sequence), is it correct? Also, what happens if a ganger goes from 5 to 7 XP? (thanks to a Mentor bonus for instance), do the go back to 0XP, or do they only 'spend' 6 XP and keep the change?
Do the starting skills of Leaders and Champions count as an advancement as far as the 2 XP 'tax' goes? The rules from Gang War 1 page 14 imply they do, but the example given page 16 ignores them.
According to Gang War 1 page 16, 'A fighter gains 1 Experience if their action causes an enemy fighter to go Out of Action' but only if 'the enemy is taken out during the action itself'. Does it mean that, if a fighter is Seriously Injured by an enemy's action and then goes Out of Action later as a result of a Recovery test, no fighter is awarded any Experience?
Genestealer cult's Aberrants and Acolytes have no access to wargear, meaning the can't equip any Extra arm or Cult icon. However, the Cult icon's description states that only an Acolyte can carry it, and all Aberrant models are modeled with an extra arm. Should those fighters have access to wargear?
Orlock gangers currently cannot equip special weapons, even the ones bought from the trading post after the campaign's start. Is this intentional?
Can gangers and juves buy weapon attachments and special ammunition? Those are not listed under Wargear, meaning that even gangers currently don't have access to them. If they can, is the cost of ammo/attachment factored in the cost of the weapon with regard the the 20 credits per weapon limit for the Juves?
Some limitations that only apply when the creating a gang (no access to common trading post items, only one ganger with special weapon) appear to promote fielding under-equiped fighters for the first battle of a campaign. Is it intentional?
Orlock gangers currently cannot equip special weapons, even the ones bought from the trading post after the campaign's start. Is this intentional?
Can gangers and juves buy weapon attachments and special ammunition? Those are not listed under Wargear, meaning that even gangers currently don't have access to them. If they can, is the cost of ammo/attachment factored in the cost of the weapon with regard the the 20 credits per weapon limit for the Juves?
Some limitations that only apply when the creating a gang (no access to common trading post items, only one ganger with special weapon) appear to promote fielding under-equiped fighters for the first battle of a campaign. Is it intentional?
The Shock Whip has several very different profiles: in Necromunda: Underhive and on Jelena's card, it has a fixed Strength of 4 instead of S+1 in Gang War 1 and 2. It is also unclear whether it should have the Melee and/or the Versatile trait (Necromunda: Underhive only has the Versatile trait, Gang War 2 only has the Melee Trait (and different ranges) and Gang War 1 has both traits).
The current FAQ confirms that the 12" short range of the lasgun found at the beginning of Necromunda: Underhive is an error. However, it is unclear which of the other two possible short range values is the correct one (Necromunda: Underhive lists it at 16" as do its accompanying fighter cards, but Gang War 1 and 2 both list it at 18"). Which value is correct?
What is the correct Blast radius for the Blasting Charges? They have the Blast (5") trait in Gang War 2 but the Blast (3") trait in the White Dwarf Genestealer Cult rules.
Skullshank's card from the Underhive box set has a Plasma/stub combi-pistol with the Plentiful trait for the stub gun part of the weapon that is otherwise missing in both Necromunda:Underhive and Gang War 1. Is this an error on the card or should the combi weapon have this trait the same way the regular Stub gun has it?
The Power hammer is either a Close-combat weapon or an Aberrant weapon depending on which list one is looking at (Goliath's or Genestealer Cult's, respectively). If a Genestealer cult gang receives a Power Hammer from a Goliath gang as payment for freeing a captured fighter, who can equip it? Aberrants? Neophytes? Both?
The Stub Gun in Gang War 2 doesn't have the Pistol trait. Do you confirm this is an error in Gang War 2?
The Gangs of Legend's version of the Boltgun has a different profile from the one found in Gang War 2 (no AP and Damage 1 instead of 2). Do you confirm Gangs of Legend is in error?
The Gangs of Legend's version of the Heavy stubber has Rapid Fire (1) (instead of Rapid Fire (2) in Gang War 2). Do you confirm Gangs of Legend is in error?
Gor Half-Horn's card (both from the Forge World pdf and in Gang War 2) has a Chainsword that is lacking the Rending trait. Do you confirm the card is in error?
Grendel's and Varik's card from the Underhive box set have a Fighting knife with +1 to hit at long range. Do you confirm the cards are in error?
Nox's card from the Underhive box set has a Brute Cleaver and a Spud-jacker both with Strength 5 (instead of S and S+1 respectively). Do you confirm the card is in error?
Grendel's card from ther Underhive box set has a Rivet cannon with a Rapid Fire mode that is only Damage 1 (instead of 2). Do you confirm the card is in error?
Grub's card from Forge World has a shotgun with executioner rounds and a long range of 8" for this ammo type instead of the 16" found in Gang War 1 and 2. Do you confirm the card is in error?
The current FAQ confirms that the 12" short range of the lasgun found at the beginning of Necromunda: Underhive is an error. However, it is unclear which of the other two possible short range values is the correct one (Necromunda: Underhive lists it at 16" as do its accompanying fighter cards, but Gang War 1 and 2 both list it at 18"). Which value is correct?
What is the correct Blast radius for the Blasting Charges? They have the Blast (5") trait in Gang War 2 but the Blast (3") trait in the White Dwarf Genestealer Cult rules.
Skullshank's card from the Underhive box set has a Plasma/stub combi-pistol with the Plentiful trait for the stub gun part of the weapon that is otherwise missing in both Necromunda:Underhive and Gang War 1. Is this an error on the card or should the combi weapon have this trait the same way the regular Stub gun has it?
The Power hammer is either a Close-combat weapon or an Aberrant weapon depending on which list one is looking at (Goliath's or Genestealer Cult's, respectively). If a Genestealer cult gang receives a Power Hammer from a Goliath gang as payment for freeing a captured fighter, who can equip it? Aberrants? Neophytes? Both?
The Stub Gun in Gang War 2 doesn't have the Pistol trait. Do you confirm this is an error in Gang War 2?
The Gangs of Legend's version of the Boltgun has a different profile from the one found in Gang War 2 (no AP and Damage 1 instead of 2). Do you confirm Gangs of Legend is in error?
The Gangs of Legend's version of the Heavy stubber has Rapid Fire (1) (instead of Rapid Fire (2) in Gang War 2). Do you confirm Gangs of Legend is in error?
Gor Half-Horn's card (both from the Forge World pdf and in Gang War 2) has a Chainsword that is lacking the Rending trait. Do you confirm the card is in error?
Grendel's and Varik's card from the Underhive box set have a Fighting knife with +1 to hit at long range. Do you confirm the cards are in error?
Nox's card from the Underhive box set has a Brute Cleaver and a Spud-jacker both with Strength 5 (instead of S and S+1 respectively). Do you confirm the card is in error?
Grendel's card from ther Underhive box set has a Rivet cannon with a Rapid Fire mode that is only Damage 1 (instead of 2). Do you confirm the card is in error?
Grub's card from Forge World has a shotgun with executioner rounds and a long range of 8" for this ammo type instead of the 16" found in Gang War 1 and 2. Do you confirm the card is in error?
The Bonesword and the Heavy rock saw from the Genestealer Cults rules both have a long range accuracy modifier of '1'. Does it stand for '+1' or '-1'?
The Needle Rifle profile from Gang War 2 is different from the profile of the Needle Rifle part of the Combi Boltgun/Needle Rifle that can be found in Necromunda:Underhive and Gang War 1 (it has no Accuracy bonus, Strength 5 instead of 4 and a Damage value). Is this intentional?
The profile for the Stub gun's dumdum rounds lacks the Pistol trait in both Gang War 1 and 2. Is this intentional?
The profile for the Hand flamer lacks the Pistol trait in both Gang War 2 and Gangs of Legend. Is this intentional?
The Maximal mode of the plasma cannon in Gang War 2 lacks the Unstable trait that is shared by all other plasma weapons. Is this intentional?
The Multi-melta in Gang War 2 lacks the Scarce trait that the meltagun has. Is this intentional?
The Harpoon Gun is currently the only Heavy weapon not to be Unwieldy. Is this intentional?
Aside from the obvious traits difference, the Sword, Stiletto sword and power sword have very different profiles (and the same is true for Fighting knife/Stiletto knife/Power knife). Is this intentional?
Why do the Toxin weapons have a Strength value? Since Toxin completely bypasses the normal wounding process, it's only used for Raising the alarm rolls (Gang War 1 p102) which are never made for Melee weapons. Shouldn't the Needle Rifle be a silent weapon anyway? (or at least less noisy than a Boltgun)
The Needle Rifle profile from Gang War 2 is different from the profile of the Needle Rifle part of the Combi Boltgun/Needle Rifle that can be found in Necromunda:Underhive and Gang War 1 (it has no Accuracy bonus, Strength 5 instead of 4 and a Damage value). Is this intentional?
The profile for the Stub gun's dumdum rounds lacks the Pistol trait in both Gang War 1 and 2. Is this intentional?
The profile for the Hand flamer lacks the Pistol trait in both Gang War 2 and Gangs of Legend. Is this intentional?
The Maximal mode of the plasma cannon in Gang War 2 lacks the Unstable trait that is shared by all other plasma weapons. Is this intentional?
The Multi-melta in Gang War 2 lacks the Scarce trait that the meltagun has. Is this intentional?
The Harpoon Gun is currently the only Heavy weapon not to be Unwieldy. Is this intentional?
Aside from the obvious traits difference, the Sword, Stiletto sword and power sword have very different profiles (and the same is true for Fighting knife/Stiletto knife/Power knife). Is this intentional?
Why do the Toxin weapons have a Strength value? Since Toxin completely bypasses the normal wounding process, it's only used for Raising the alarm rolls (Gang War 1 p102) which are never made for Melee weapons. Shouldn't the Needle Rifle be a silent weapon anyway? (or at least less noisy than a Boltgun)
The Escher Champions are more intelligent than their Leader (Champions are Int 6+ and the Leader is Int 7+). Is this intentional?
The Genestealer Cult Hybrid acolytes have less willpower than the Neophyte hybrids (the Acolytes are Wil 7+ and the Neophytes are Wil 6+). Is this intentional?
The Van Saar champions have a better Initiative than their leader (Champions are I 4+ and the Leader is I 5+). Is this intentional?
The Genestealer Cult Hybrid acolytes have less willpower than the Neophyte hybrids (the Acolytes are Wil 7+ and the Neophytes are Wil 6+). Is this intentional?
The Van Saar champions have a better Initiative than their leader (Champions are I 4+ and the Leader is I 5+). Is this intentional?
When do reinforcements arrive? According to the rules from Gang War 1 page 52, they arrive 'at the end of the End phase', but in every scenario that uses them, it's stated that they arrive 'at the start of the end phase'. If they arrive at the start of the end phase, does it happen before or after the bottle check is made?
According to the rules for Crews (Gang War 1 page 62), a player 'can declare any number of fighters unfit (or too important) for sentry duty'. Does it mean that they can declare all but 5 fighters unfit and therefore select exactly the fighters they want to be their sentries?
In the scenario Border Dispute, the winner steals D3 Turf from the loser. What happens if a 2 or 3 is rolled and the loser only has 1 Turf left? Can a gang be reduced to 0 turf or less?
The scenario Rescue mission (Gang War 1 page 64) state that a fighter can 'make either a Strength check or lntelligence check' to free a Captive. How is a Strength check made? The rules for Characteristic checks (Necromunda: Underhive page 43) only explain how to make Weapon Skill, Ballistic Skill, lnitiative, Leadership, Cool, Willpower and lntelligence checks.
In the Rescue mission scenario, what happens if the defenders bottle and flee the battle before the Captive is 'freed' or 'taken flight'? The rules now seem to indicate that the Captives need to be freed per the 'Free Captive' action and escape the board per the 'Taking Flight' rules. This is also relevant to XP and Reputation rewards.
In the Looters scenario (Gang War 1 page 57), it's possible for the Defender to voluntarily bottle as soon as possible in order to gain 1 reputation for each casket (-1 for bottling) and make the attacker lose 2 Reputation. Something similar is also possible with the Sabotage scenario (Gang War 1 page 63). Is this intentional?
According to the rules for Crews (Gang War 1 page 62), a player 'can declare any number of fighters unfit (or too important) for sentry duty'. Does it mean that they can declare all but 5 fighters unfit and therefore select exactly the fighters they want to be their sentries?
In the scenario Border Dispute, the winner steals D3 Turf from the loser. What happens if a 2 or 3 is rolled and the loser only has 1 Turf left? Can a gang be reduced to 0 turf or less?
The scenario Rescue mission (Gang War 1 page 64) state that a fighter can 'make either a Strength check or lntelligence check' to free a Captive. How is a Strength check made? The rules for Characteristic checks (Necromunda: Underhive page 43) only explain how to make Weapon Skill, Ballistic Skill, lnitiative, Leadership, Cool, Willpower and lntelligence checks.
In the Rescue mission scenario, what happens if the defenders bottle and flee the battle before the Captive is 'freed' or 'taken flight'? The rules now seem to indicate that the Captives need to be freed per the 'Free Captive' action and escape the board per the 'Taking Flight' rules. This is also relevant to XP and Reputation rewards.
In the Looters scenario (Gang War 1 page 57), it's possible for the Defender to voluntarily bottle as soon as possible in order to gain 1 reputation for each casket (-1 for bottling) and make the attacker lose 2 Reputation. Something similar is also possible with the Sabotage scenario (Gang War 1 page 63). Is this intentional?
The Goliath Tactic card Stimm Surge makes the player roll 1D6 and gives the corresponding outcomes if a 1, 2 or 3 is rolled. Is the D6 supposed to be a D3, or is the 4-6 result missing?
The card Deadlock states that it can only be used in Sector Mechanicus games. Since it uses a door, and those are more frequent in Zone Mortalis games, shouldn't it be the other way around? And what about other cards that use doors or ductways? (Rigged door, Hidden passage and Emergency seal)
Does the card Just add nails work with frag grenade shot with a grenade launcher, or only with thrown frag grenades?
Does the Orlock card Bond of Brotherhood bypass the restrictions on basic actions? (i.e. can the fighter make a Shoot (basic) action if they already made a Shoot (basic) action as one of their two normal actions for the turn?). The card only states that this action is 'in addition to the two other actions they can make during the turn'.
The card Deadlock states that it can only be used in Sector Mechanicus games. Since it uses a door, and those are more frequent in Zone Mortalis games, shouldn't it be the other way around? And what about other cards that use doors or ductways? (Rigged door, Hidden passage and Emergency seal)
Does the card Just add nails work with frag grenade shot with a grenade launcher, or only with thrown frag grenades?
Does the Orlock card Bond of Brotherhood bypass the restrictions on basic actions? (i.e. can the fighter make a Shoot (basic) action if they already made a Shoot (basic) action as one of their two normal actions for the turn?). The card only states that this action is 'in addition to the two other actions they can make during the turn'.
Do walls exist in Sector Mechanicus games? Necromunda:Underhive defines walls fo Zone Mortalis games, but those rules can't be used as is in SM and there is no counterpart in Gang War 1 for SM games.
How do Melta traps work in Sector Mechanicus games?
How do Template, Blast and Field of view work exactly in Sector Mechanicus with the addition of a third dimension? For instance, does the Blast disc become a sphere, or an infinitely high cylinder?
How do Melta traps work in Sector Mechanicus games?
How do Template, Blast and Field of view work exactly in Sector Mechanicus with the addition of a third dimension? For instance, does the Blast disc become a sphere, or an infinitely high cylinder?
Do you have to pay for hired guns equipment on top of their hiring cost?
Do you have to pay for hanger-ons equipment on top of their hiring cost?
Is the grenade launcher really supposed to cost only 65 credits (55 for Goliaths and Genestealer cults) and come with free frag and krak grenades? This makes it cost less than the grenades bought separately.
Do Eschers really get a -67% discount on lasguns, making them cheaper than laspistols? Or should they have 10 credits lasguns and 5 credits laspistols?
Do you have to pay for hanger-ons equipment on top of their hiring cost?
Is the grenade launcher really supposed to cost only 65 credits (55 for Goliaths and Genestealer cults) and come with free frag and krak grenades? This makes it cost less than the grenades bought separately.
Do Eschers really get a -67% discount on lasguns, making them cheaper than laspistols? Or should they have 10 credits lasguns and 5 credits laspistols?
The rules for Stray shot gives you a 50% chance to hit any enemy on the bullet path as long as you fail to hit your intended target. This may make an enemy fighter easier to hit than when directly shooting at them. Is this intentional?
What happens if a fighter is forced to leave the table (because of the Knockback trait, for instance)? Should the table's edges be treated as a walls or something else?
The rules for the Malfunctioning generatorium (Gang War 2 page 24) state that a fighter moving between two active generators suffers 'D3 Strength 4 hits with the Shock trait'. However, the Shock trait only does something if a 6 is rolled on the Hit roll. What is the point of this damage using this specific trait?
There doesn't seem to be any guidelines as to which base size should be used for each fighter type. Should we always 32mm for Goliaths, 25mm for Escher, etc? What about the various genestealer cultist types?
What happens if a fighter is forced to leave the table (because of the Knockback trait, for instance)? Should the table's edges be treated as a walls or something else?
The rules for the Malfunctioning generatorium (Gang War 2 page 24) state that a fighter moving between two active generators suffers 'D3 Strength 4 hits with the Shock trait'. However, the Shock trait only does something if a 6 is rolled on the Hit roll. What is the point of this damage using this specific trait?
There doesn't seem to be any guidelines as to which base size should be used for each fighter type. Should we always 32mm for Goliaths, 25mm for Escher, etc? What about the various genestealer cultist types?
Last edited: