I have a question about blaze in melee combat. The last thread to ask this was a year old with no replies so thought I'd ask to try and clear this up.
So, a Redemptionist with a pyromantic mantle (gives melee weapons blaze) charges an enemy. He successfully hits, rolls for blaze, and the target catches fire. Does the target get to make reaction attacks? The blaze rules state that as soon as roll is successful, the target becomes subject to the blaze trait. When someone is subject to blaze they can't act normally. If they're engaged they can only remain standing and attempt to put themselves out. Since the target is immediately subject to the condition as it doesn't trigger from their next activation, then surely they can't perform reaction attacks.
I'm currently playing Redemptionists and this has come up. It feels pretty powerful and I want to make sure this is being played correctly. I don't want to be wrecking people's expensive nacht-ghuls effortlessly if it isn't supposed to work this way, but after combing the rules a couple of times, it does seem to imply this. Thoughts?
So, a Redemptionist with a pyromantic mantle (gives melee weapons blaze) charges an enemy. He successfully hits, rolls for blaze, and the target catches fire. Does the target get to make reaction attacks? The blaze rules state that as soon as roll is successful, the target becomes subject to the blaze trait. When someone is subject to blaze they can't act normally. If they're engaged they can only remain standing and attempt to put themselves out. Since the target is immediately subject to the condition as it doesn't trigger from their next activation, then surely they can't perform reaction attacks.
I'm currently playing Redemptionists and this has come up. It feels pretty powerful and I want to make sure this is being played correctly. I don't want to be wrecking people's expensive nacht-ghuls effortlessly if it isn't supposed to work this way, but after combing the rules a couple of times, it does seem to imply this. Thoughts?