Necromunda Gaming Board Build

May 15, 2022
Hey folks,

I’m brand new to Necromunda (and this forum) but really like making terrain and scenery. I’ve got this idea in my head to build a custom gaming board, that packs away for easy storage. I’ll share pictures of the build as I go, and I could use some advice from experienced players.

A little about me - I got into 40k when I was around 13 (second edition), played for a couple of years but gave it up when my friends moved on. Just as original Necromunda was introduced. Nearly 30 years later, and I finally came back to the hobby. I’ve been invited to play Necromunda with friends, really looking forward to that. Love the way the game has so much terrain and scenery, really inspired me to try and create a configurable gaming board system with a lot of modular terrain.

I wanted a series of strong but light modular sections. For two main reasons, firstly because I don’t want to have to store a full 3’ x 3’ board (and I might want to upgrade to 4’ x 4’ some day). Secondly I want a strong base so it doesn’t flex the terrain too much.

I went with 400mm x 400mm as that’s the sizes the hardware store sells. So we’re not quite 3’ x 3‘ but I can expand in future. 6mm MDF top and bottom with 21mm x 25mm strip for the frame.

Turned out square enough, happy with that. I’m thinking magnets to hold them together.

Should be a fun build, I’m interested to see where this goes!

Mr. M

Gang Champion
Honored Tribesman
Aug 1, 2019
San Jose, CA
This looks like the start of a great project! I love scratch-built terrain and can't wait to see how your board progresses!!! There are several members on this site who have made DIY Necromunda boards, so if you need inspiration or advice, you've got some good resources here.

Reactions: Sobek

MedMos

Hive Guilder
Yak Comp 1st Place
Nov 10, 2014
Møn, Denmark