N18 Necromunda Wounds and Injury

drdrybrush

Ganger
Jan 5, 2021
108
140
68
youtube.com
Say a model has 2 wounds.

It is shot with a rapid fire weapon that ends up causing 4 points of unsaved damage (for the sake of an example).

The target is reduced to 0 wounds.

My understanding is that at the 0 wound point an injury dice would be rolled and the 2 remaining points of damage would be added on to the injury dice amount for a total of 3 dice in this example.

Is that right or am I way off?
Thanks for the help
 

Thorgor

Of The YAQ
Oct 12, 2015
4,777
11,117
148
37
Sevres 92130 France
It's about right, yes!

Technically, how exactly it's rolled depends on the specifics. Is it 1 D4 wound, 2 D2 wounds or 4 D1 wounds?
If it's 4 D1 wounds, you will make 3 injury rolls of 1 dice each. If it's 2 D2 wounds you will make 2 injury rolls, one with 1 dice and another with 2 dice. If it's 1 D4 wounds, you will make a single injury roll with 3 dice.
This is relevant if something changes how many dice should be rolled for an injury roll against the target (for instance, if they have the True Grit skill)
 

drdrybrush

Ganger
Jan 5, 2021
108
140
68
youtube.com
It's about right, yes!

Technically, how exactly it's rolled depends on the specifics. Is it 1 D4 wound, 2 D2 wounds or 4 D1 wounds?
If it's 4 D1 wounds, you will make 3 injury rolls of 1 dice each. If it's 2 D2 wounds you will make 2 injury rolls, one with 1 dice and another with 2 dice. If it's 1 D4 wounds, you will make a single injury roll with 3 dice.
This is relevant if something changes how many dice should be rolled for an injury roll against the target (for instance, if they have the True Grit skill)
Thanks for the reply 🙂

Let's say is 4 x D1 for talking sake because my brain has melted a tad today , so on a W2 model they'd be reduced to 0 wounds from 2 points of damage from the weapon.

2 injury dice would be rolled (1 for each remaining damage caused) and an additional 1 injury dice due to being reduced to zero wounds.

Is that right or am I still missing the mark?
 

drdrybrush

Ganger
Jan 5, 2021
108
140
68
youtube.com
Awesome 🙂 thanks for the help, very new to necromunda but many years of 40k under the belt so just wrapping my head round the differences like how if a fighter has zero wounds they're not necessarily automatically dead or out of action.

Any super easy cheat sheet references you can recommend?
 

Kiro The Avenger

Gang Hero
Apr 4, 2018
1,693
2,227
128
Bristol, UK
My group combines all the damage into one roll for a single attack.

I wouldn't say that's necessarily incorrect either, the rules are vague enough that's just as correct as what Thorgor suggested.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Devilmixer

UncleFester

Ganger
Jun 12, 2011
191
145
48
Danville, CA, USA
Yes, that's the way we do it also.

....

However...

If you have a rules-lawyer around, the rules for rolling Injury dice are... technically speaking... a mess. If you read them carefully, and do exactly what they say, it would actually play out this: (BTW, I'm not recommending doing it this way)

Rules say, when a hit reduces a fighter to 0 Wounds, immediately roll an Injury Die and apply the result. The next step then says if there are more Damage points to be dealt, roll additional Injury Dice.

And so, if the first roll on the Injury Die is OOA (or a Flesh Wound that reduces Toughness to 0), and you apply the result immediately, the fighter is immediately removed from play and any remaining Damage would be irrelevant.

I merely point that out as an example of how the rules often have "foggy wording".
 

OrcJuice

Juve
Jul 19, 2021
36
15
8
43
Indiana, USA
If you combine all damage into a single attack then doesn't it become an all or nothing type save for armor?

Sorry if I don't make sense. I'm brand new to this as well and trying to figure it all out. :)