Origins of Mordheim mechanics

AndeeT

Ganger
Apr 16, 2016
Palmerston North, New Zealand
I never got into Warhammer Fantasy apart from Mordheim, it was strictly 40K for me.

So, rules-wise does Mordheim draw much from Warhammer Fantasy or is it similar to GorkaMorka in that its essentially Necromunda/2nd edition WH40k with a different aesthetic?

Ardavion

Gang Hero
Nov 22, 2011
So, rules-wise does Mordheim draw much from Warhammer Fantasy or is it similar to GorkaMorka in that its essentially Necromunda/2nd edition WH40k with a different aesthetic?
It draws pretty much from WHFB, not sure on the edition (anywhere between 3rd and 6th, but I'm no expert) since it's the same "world", but the campaign rules are completely different to Necromunda. Given that back in the day 40k 2nd ed and WHFB had a lot of identical rules, this makes the distinction vague.

Reactions: Aulenback

spafe

Executive Officer in charge of Hats
Staff member
Necromunda Custodian
Yak Comp 2nd Place
Tribe Council
Feb 8, 2013
Tilehurst, U.k.
The old world is awesome for its lore (annoying as I really like the AoS system but hate the new background), you should be able to pick up a lot of the older books really cheap for the background. I'd suggest looking mainly at the empire stuff as thats where its set.

The system itself... is similar to necromunda in terms of stat line, move/run/shoot/charge. Combat is different, and teh campaign system is very different. Also warbands are strucutred in a specific way with heros and henchmen, and each warband having a max size etc. But the core of the game is similar. Shooting is amuch lesser part though and combat is more common than in necromunda.

wouldnt be too hard to have a read through of the rulebook and then have a game if you are familiar with necormunda though.

Ben_S

Hive Guilder
Honored Tribesman
Jul 26, 2015
Southampton, UK
Given that back in the day 40k 2nd ed and WHFB had a lot of identical rules, this makes the distinction vague.