ORB Rules Question: Grenade Launcher targeting a point on the ground

Drakkar

Juve
Feb 18, 2024
15
54
13
Near Barcelona (Spain)
Hello hive mind,

I have a question about the rules for Grenade Launchers in the original Necromunda ORB.

I want to fire a Frag grenade at a point on the ground between two enemy models so the 2" template can catch both of them in the blast.

  1. Is this allowed?
  2. How is the hit resolved? BS of shooter -1 for small target?
I want to make sure I'm playing this correctly. Thanks in advance for your help!
 
just fire as normal , if you can see the target piece of ground.
use the shooters BS as if it was any other target , range and other modifiers apply.
its not a small target (the ground is big)
but remember to always shout 'duck you suckers!'
 
  • Like
Reactions: Lunarcruiser
When I was playing the original Necromunda it was definitely -1 for trying to hit a specific point on the ground/wall/barricade/etc. That's still more favourable than the -2 for shooting a target in full cover which makes blast weapons harder to hide from.
 
When I was playing the original Necromunda it was definitely -1 for trying to hit a specific point on the ground/wall/barricade/etc. That's still more favourable than the -2 for shooting a target in full cover which makes blast weapons harder to hide from.
I think like you, because you're trying to hit a small point. Thanks both for you're help!!!
 
  • Like
Reactions: daveh
In the original Necromunda rules you could not target a spot on the ground, except with smoke and gas. Normal targeting rules apply for blast weapons, you target a fighter.

P22 of the original rules covers the excpetion for smoke and gas. Attachment is a screenshot of the rule.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2025-09-10 201256.png
    Screenshot 2025-09-10 201256.png
    11.6 KB · Views: 37
  • Like
Reactions: Aulenback and Stoof
A lot of people used the targeting a point rule for both offensive and smoke grenades. It better reflects how grenades are used in reality and it makes little sense that thrown item A can hit a specified point but similarly sized and weighted thrown item B cannot. They're already quite expensive and you're prone to running out of them. Needs to be agreed with your opponent pre-game of course.

The "proper" rule was carried on to NCE however, which specifies that only smoke grenades can hit a specified point.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Aulenback