N18 Seriously injured fighters in close combat

sloshua

Juve
Jan 8, 2021
21
5
13
Round Rock
Fighter A charges and engages with fighter B. Fighter A then beats the crap out of fighter B and causes fighter B to become seriously injured. There is no knockback or anything other special rule to create space between them in this scenario.

At this point are both fighters still engaged? Engaged is not a secondary status of seriously injured fighters, but I would assume they are still considered in base to base contact, so fighter A would still be engaged, but fighter B would not.

In the close combat section of the rulebook when a fighter chooses to attack, it says his target must be engaged with him and in his vision arc. Does this mean the only action fighter A can take against fighter B on the next turn is coup de grace? This is important because regular attacks could potentially result in more injuries than 1 coup de grace.
 
Next turn?

If Fighter A has Seriously Injured Fighter B then A can just Coup De Grace B for free immediately at the end of combat.

You can only be engaged, incidentally, if you are able to stand up. Seriously Injured (and, technically, prone, but they just stand up when engaged) fighters cannot be engaged.
 
  • Like
Reactions: sloshua
Thanks for the clarification. I guess I'm considering more of an edge case where the attacking fighter might want to avoid CdG at the end of the combat so they can do regular close combat attacks again the next turn because it would potentially cause more out of actions.

So it sounds like if fighter A just stands there and does nothing he remains engaged but the seriously injured fighter does not. Thoughts?
 
No, engaged is a two way street, either you're both engaged or no one is.
So what happens in a situation where a fighter seriously injures another fighter in CC but chooses not to CdG or consolidate? Are they still considered in base to base contact and just not engaged? Would the attacking fighter have to consolidate and do another charge the next turn if he wanted to perform CC attacks again?
 
You can't cc a seriously injured fighter, you can only CdG. the charge gives you a free fight if you end engaged, you won't be, or a free CDG if you have a viable target
Okay this makes sense, and it must be because you can never be engaged with a SI fighter since they are never active.
 
  • Like
Reactions: almic85
Suppose a fighter charges and is engaged with two enemies. Causes one enemy to have a Serious Injury. The charger can't CdG the SI fighter, because he is engaged with another enemy. But the fighter is no longer engaged with the SI fighter. Next round, the fighter Fights (basic Action), and causes the second fighter to have a Serious Injury. Now, the fighter is NOT engaged with either enemy. Since he can CdG an enemy within an inch, he could use his second action to CdG one of the SI enemies. Or, move away. Or shoot someone else.

Hint: There is almost never a good reason to not CdG.