N18 Starter/Dominion Goliath Gang

Mark Ancketill

May 10, 2019
I am brand new to Necromunda, but am potentially going to take part in a Dominion campaign shortly.

I have chosen Goliath as my gang of choice due to the "rule of cool"!

I am currently in the process of modeling up and deciding upon a starting gang. As such, not having played a single game of Necromunda yet, but reading up from here and other sites how does the following look?

Leader+combi plasma+power hammer = 230
Champion+gl+stub gun = 170
Champion+combat shotgun+chainsword = 195
Ganger+gl+stub gun = 120
Ganger+stub cannon+smoke grenades = 95

This brings me to a neat 1000.

Modeling wise I only have the basic box set and the forge world weapons set 2.

Questions I have:
1) What about the power axe over the power hammer on the leader? Is cheaper and does a similar job.
2) Are two gl's to much?
3) The champion with combat shotgun and chainsword, is this a good idea? Modeling wise it rocks!
4) Is it worth dropping one lot of grenades to upgrade a stub cannon to a shotgun?

Appreciate any help you could all provide.

Reactions: Paupoi

AnthonyS

Juve
Feb 28, 2018
Epping
I’d definitely go Poweraxe over hammer. I did and wounding on 2’s in combat is much better than D2 - at least in early part of game. Combat shotgun champ is good but you could hold getting chainsword until later on in campaign. My guys didn’t start seeing close combat until they got movement increases

Reactions: almic85

Mark Ancketill

May 10, 2019
Ok, thanks for the advice on the power axe.

Over the past couple of days I received my extra weapons set, and after having fun building stuff, started thinking about a different potential list:

Leader+boltgun+stubgun+axe=215
Champ+renderisor+stims=175
Champ+gl+stub gun=170
Ganger+gl+stub gun=120
Ganger+stub cannon=80
Ganger+stub cannon=80
Ganger+stub gun+smoke=80
Ganger+stub gun+smoke=80

That comes to 1000pts exactly and get me 8 bodies:)