N18 Stimm Overload and Fight (BASIC) interpretation.

Mesuno

Juve
Aug 5, 2019
22
1
3
Stimm Overload
Goliath
Play this card instead of activating a fighter.
This fighter counts a Charge (Double) action as a Basic action this turn.

Extremely good card for basically guaranteeing an Out of Action result from a combat. Pro tip: use it to charge into a multiple-model combat and waste 2 enemies in one turn!

Tactics discussion...


In my campaign we seem to have interpreted this card differently from the Necromunda discussion linked above.
By our reading, Charge (Double) includes an optional "free Fight (Basic) action". We decided that the fact the Fight action was free did not mean that it was not basic, so a second fight action was not a valid follow up.

Charge (Basic) followed by Shoot (Basic) or Move (simple) would be fine
Charge (Basic) followed by Hurl would be fine
Charge (Basic) followed by Fight (Basic) would not be fine.

Any thoughts?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jumbley

Thorgor

Of The YAQ
Oct 12, 2015
3,304
7,138
138
35
Issy-les-Moulineaux 92130 France
I agree with you. Imo 'Free' means the action doesn't cost you anything, but it doesn't mean it never happened. Best use of Stimm Overload is probably to Move/Shoot then Charge, unless your fighter has Hurl or Headbutt for some reason. You'd need Rain of Blows or a similar effect to Charge -> Fight.

Then again, the designers have been on record stating both that "free is free" (RB page 110, when justifying why starting skill/equipment don't contribute to gang rating) and that "free [only] means you pay no credits" (TBoJ page 72, when justifying why gang composition rules must be adhered to even for free fighters), so it's not like 'free' has a specific meaning in this ruleset.

As a side note, the Goonhammer guys made a mistake when copying the card's playing condition (it is played "when activating a fighter"', not "instead", obviously)
 
  • Like
Reactions: Jumbley

Mesuno

Juve
Aug 5, 2019
22
1
3
In discussion today we wondered whether the text above was maybe referring to getting in an extra CdG?

Pro tip: use it to charge into a multiple-model combat and waste 2 enemies in one turn!

Maybe the authors meant CdG instead of an extra fight as we first thought.