The Leader Special Rule, Pinning & Armour


New Member
Jun 21, 2015
Hey Guys,

My question has to do with carapace armour or pit slave armour in the NCE:
If your leader is wearing said armour their initiative is reduced.
If a guy within 6" of your leader is pinned then they use the leaders initiative for pinning.
If that guy has armour then his initiative is reduced.

So does the pinned man use his leaders initiative and take both penalties? Should the leaders armour be ignored for the boost or should it hamper his ability to command?


Gang Champion
Mar 2, 2016
Copenhagen, Denmark
Armour like carapace and armor plates effects initiativ in all cases, just like being partially deafened, or having initiative reduced to 1 from a berserker- or lobo chip.

But i understand the confusion ... what is the 'fluff logic', in lack of a better term, behind the leader rule? Using the leaders Ld. makes sense, but how does initiative transfer? What is going on here?
  • Like
Reactions: Malaclypse3


Executive Officer in charge of Hats
Staff member
Necromunda Custodian
Yak Comp 2nd Place
Tribe Council
Feb 8, 2013
Tilehurst, U.k.
I seem to remember this causing a long discussion a little while back about how it works...

Using @Blood Donor 's great thread organization thread here:

There are a number of threads to do with leaders Int being used for escaping pinning, might be able to find more info in one of these (I spotted 3 that looked useful from the titles:

The bottom one is very suitable I think from a quick skim of it :)
Last edited by a moderator:


New Member
Jun 21, 2015
Right, whole can of worms here but thanks for the reply.

The last link had the best information on the armour situation from what I can see the discussion never resolved. Counting both fighters modifiers seems silly so I'll discuss it with my group to see who's modifiers they'd prefer to apply.

Thanks again guys.