N18 The order of rerolls

David Hobson

New Member
Feb 12, 2018
7
3
13
Aberdeen, UK
We had an issue come up in a game. In it we had a death maiden attacking a goliath with the ability that allows them to force a reroll on successful toxin attacks. The question we had is does the death maiden get to reroll ones first, or does the goliath force successful rerolls? Also is it per die? What is the order?

Here is an example below to help make it clear:

Goliath with toughness 4.
Death maiden makes three toughness rolls using toxin and gets a 5, 5, 1.

Would the order be:
a) Death maiden rerolls the 1 and fails again. The goliath makes the death maiden reroll the two 5s, causing a 4, 1. However, since the death maiden has already had a "round" of reroll 1s, she does not get to reroll the new one causing only one successful toxin roll.
b) Goliath forces the Death maiden to reroll the two fives. The new results are 4,1,1. The Death maiden rerolls the two ones, resulting in a 4,5,2. The result is two successful toxin rolls.
c) Death maiden rerolls the 1 and fails again. The goliath makes the death maiden reroll the two 5s, causing a 4, 1. However, since the death maiden has not used her ability to reroll the one on this die (she used it on the other die that had originally rolled a one) she rerolls the new 1 and gets a 5 and has two successful toxin results.

This does create a impact in the game. In option b) above, it means the death maiden gets to see what the rerolls are before she rerolls ones. In a), the forced rerolls by the goliath would prevent the death maiden from rerolling a 1 on the forced die rolls. In c), it becomes complicated because you treat each die separately and the abilities are "triggered" based on when needed by the player but can only be "triggered" once in an attack.

Thank you
 
  • Like
Reactions: TopsyKretts

Vonvilkee

Gang Hero
Jan 7, 2018
875
658
108
Bellingham, Washington USA
Okay didn't really get caught up in the examples as necromunda holds to the GW standard of you can't reroll a reroll. This to me means grab all the dice that get/have to be rerolled at once and see what they end up at.

In your example the 5,5,1 roll would result in all the dice being rolled again and the second roll stands.

If the initial roll was 5,5,2 roll the fives and the results stand.
 

Thorgor

Of The YAQ
Oct 12, 2015
4,782
11,141
148
37
Sevres 92130 France
I agree with @Vonvilkee. Since a dice can only be rerolled once (RB page 45), Adaptive Biology causes the 5s to be re-rolled, Poison Blood causes the 1 to be re-rolled, and that's it. You re-roll everything in this scenario and keep the second result (well, technically rerolling the 1 is not mandatory but there is no reason to choose not to do it).