N18 Toxin causing Flesh wounds

Lord 83

Juve
Apr 22, 2022
10
0
6
23
I play Escher (pretty new player) and so I have a bunch of ladies with Toxin weapons. But I am a bit confused about the "clarification" the FAQs give to the Toxin trait.
"A save roll can be made against Toxin attack (if the Toxin roll results in the target being Seriously Injured or Out of Action and it has armour, their controller make a save roll. If it's passed, the results of the Toxin roll is ignored.)"
Now, to me this implies that if the result of the injury die is a Flesh wound, then you can't roll a save against it even if you otherwise could roll one. Because it seems that GW went out of their way to specifically mention the result being a Serious Injury or and Out of Action, and they left out Flesh wound.

As a second, follow-up question, if the way I read it is correct and you can't save if the result is a Flesh wound, can you roll a save if it is your last Flesh wound? Since it says "if the Toxin roll results in the target being [...] Out of Action..." And losing your last Flesh wound will take you Out of Action.
 

mateyboy3000

Gang Champion
May 29, 2017
284
283
63
Toxin should be resolved as:check for toxin, save, roll injury.
Which book and faq are you looking at as I couldn't find a toxin reference in the faq and you can't search it
 

Lord 83

Juve
Apr 22, 2022
10
0
6
23
This was in the old GotU FAQ that is no longer available. But I have a PDF rulebook that includes those FAQs. Unfortunately the new FAQ on Warhammer Community doesn't include a bunch of stuff that was in the GotU FAQ, it only says that that FAQ has been moved to the House of FAQs but that just isn't true as there are things that are simply nowhere now. Like the clarification for Toxin, since without a FAQ it could be argued that no save roll at all is made against a Toxin attack because of the wording.
 

JayTee

Ganger
Jun 14, 2015
228
435
63
The latest rules clarify that Toxin (And other Damage '-' weapons) does allow an armour save. Pg 70 of the 2018 rulebook:
Armour saves are made either:
• After the Wound roll is made but before the Wound is removed from the fighter, in which case the Wound is ‘saved’ and not removed.
• If the attack has a Damage ‘-’ characteristic and causes an Injury dice to be rolled against the fighter for any reason, a save roll is made before any Injury dice are rolled

EDIT: That's a Yaktribe FAQ, not an official FAQ. While normally it helps clarify where GW have not, in this case the YAQ wording is unhelpful.
 
Jun 12, 2022
46
32
18
After you hit and overcome the toughness. But before you apply the injury dice. So at the same time you would roll a save after a hit from a normal weapon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stompzilla