Underworld or Goblins?

Ben_S

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Jul 26, 2015
Southampton, UK
I'm thinking that I could do with a new BB team, in particular a 'handicap' team that I could use when playing my girlfriend. I'm thinking either Goblins or Underworld. I have some experience playing against both, and know a bit about how they play on paper, but which is more fun?

(I realise that both teams start involve a bunch of Goblins, so there's a fair chance that whichever I do first might be expanded to the latter in time too.)

DArquebus

Ganger
Aug 7, 2012
Sydney, Oz
Underworld play more like a regular team just a slightly fragile one. They are probably better to play rookies with in terms of learning how to beat normal teams. And they tend to be punching bags so 'fun' for opponents to beat you up, even if you scarper in for a cheeky win.

Goblins can be lethal if played right, but also tend to play unlike 'normal' other teams. Weapons, Stalling, Fouling, Carnage inflicted on the opponent are all part of the successful Goblin play book. You can NOT do those things, but I find they tend to be fairly limp if you don't. And it can be a NPE (negative play experience) fora rookie opponent perhaps. They can also be less fun for you as they cannot compete for periods of the game once the attrition kicks in and weapons are sent off etc.

Don't get me wrong, I love Goblins and playing with them, but they are a more difficult proposition in a "GF gaming experience" methinks. And Mutations (Underworld) can be hellishly good fun as well. I'd recommend starting with UW at least and taking it from there.

CaptainDangerous

Executive Officer in charge of Fraggles
Staff member
Yak Comp 3rd Place
Tribe Council
Oct 30, 2016
Durham, uk
I think play goblins, but only ever use one special at any one time! That way she still has the advantage, but you get to experience the different qualities of the specials without being too ‘powerful’!