N18 Unstable and no ammo

Apr 4, 2018
139
102
43
Bristol, UK
Yeah, the devs can't decide whether a melee attack is the whole "package" of swings, or each individual swing.
40k doesn't have this issue, they should have used the same terminolgy of "fighting" to make many attacks.
 

UnderhiveGangstar

Gang Champion
Jun 6, 2018
301
147
43
UK
The problem is they are using attack both as a rule heading and as a general noun. Its understandable that this would cause confusion, but is slightly difficult to avoid using every word as both a heading and a noun in general. What is certain in this case is that its the whole package, its not that ambiguous anymore in the new rulebook.

On P68 (Close Combat):

"Whenever a fighter makes a close combat attack against one or more....., this sequence is followed:
1.Turn to face
2.Pick Weapons
3.Determine attack dice - This step would not be here if the "attack" was one hit fully resolved at a time. There would be an instruction to repeat steps one to seven (if 3. was removed) for each attack.
 

Thorgor

Of The YAQ
Oct 12, 2015
2,831
6,166
138
34
Issy-les-Moulineaux 92130 France
It's not clear at all. Also from the new rulebook you have these:
p59 said:
Fight (Basic): the fighter makes close combat attacks against one or more enemy fighters they are Engaged with.
p185 said:
Bull Charge
When the fighter makes close combat attacks as part of a Charge (Double) action ...
p185 said:
Crushing Blow
Before rolling to hit for the fighter's close combat attacks, ...
p187 said:
Berserker
When this fighter makes close combat attacks as part of a Charge (Double) action ...
p187 said:
Fearsome
If an enemy wishes to make a Charge (Double) action that would result in them making one or more close combat attacks against this fighter ...
They all point to a single Fight action resulting in multiple close combat attacks. And Fearsome has been completely rewritten for this book, so it cannot be a simple copy/paste problem.
 
Last edited:
Apr 4, 2018
139
102
43
Bristol, UK
It's also worth noting that many rules such as disarm are written "if the hit roll for an attack made with this weapon..."
The use of "the" only makes sense if an attack is a single roll.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ben_S

Thorgor

Of The YAQ
Oct 12, 2015
2,831
6,166
138
34
Issy-les-Moulineaux 92130 France
Yes. Step aside also very clearly states that there can be multiple close combat attacks from a single fighter during a single round of CC:
If the fighter is hit in close combat, the fighter can attempt to step aside. Make an Initiative check for them. If the check is passed, the attack misses. This skill can only be used once per enemy in each round of close combat – in other words, if an enemy makes more than one attack, the fighter can only attempt to step aside from one of them.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ben_S