N18 Wyrd powers clarification for chaos, venators, GSC, outcast

Venik

Juve
Mar 15, 2020
36
13
13
Delaque wyrd was clarified in the latest FAQ, but other gangs not.
Am i correct that chaos witches, venator's leaders, GSC adepts, infected gang's leaders can get powers from general disciplines?
According to wording from outcast as i understand all psykers get one power for free.
So at the start of campaign genestealer adept would have skill+wyrd power or 2 wyrd powers. Is it correct?
 

mateyboy3000

Gang Champion
May 29, 2017
281
283
63
Delaque was the only one that needed clarification due to the wording of their rule saying 'may choose power from mad/dark/delusion' this led to not choosing a power then using BoO text to get one. This is rather clearly (at leat to me) very gamey and not the intent, which is first power must be their specialism and can then get powers from BoO. Which was made clear in the faq.

No others got a clarification as no other faction had a rule like this and it was all choose power instead of skill, which became redundant with outcasts all start with 1 rule as you chose a skill then used Outcast to choose any power you like.

BoO is explicit that any non named psyker has access to the Outcast diciplines.

You example can only be skill+power or 1 power chosen as skill, if you choose a power as your free skill the BoO text giving a power does not activate as you already have a power
 

Venik

Juve
Mar 15, 2020
36
13
13
You example can only be skill+power or 1 power chosen as skill, if you choose a power as your free skill the BoO text giving a power does not activate as you already have a power
Thank you!
So then Outcast champions get only wyrd power , and no skills.
Everybody else get skill +wyrd from the start.
 

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,135
6,317
193
Norway
So confusing, is this the common understanding? That all psykers effectively start skill + wyrd power now? I like it, but don't remember seeing it discussed before.

If all other psykers get it, any reason Outcast doesn't?
 

Venik

Juve
Mar 15, 2020
36
13
13
So confusing, is this the common understanding? That all psykers effectively start skill + wyrd power now? I like it, but don't remember seeing it discussed before.

If all other psykers get it, any reason Outcast doesn't?
That is why i have started the topic.
Only skills outcast champions has in a primary is wyrd powers...
 
  • Like
Reactions: TopsyKretts

TopsyKretts

Hive Lord
Honored Tribesman
Dec 29, 2017
6,135
6,317
193
Norway
Haha that is ridiculous. So all psykers gained a boost, effectively starting with skill AND wyrd power, except the gang that came in the same book that gave this boost. If you choose them as psykers, you lose the skill. What an anti-pattern of game design.